Too sharp at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2007, 09:46 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Too sharp

I got some footage of inside a church with lots of details and horizontal bench, and while it looks super great perfect on my HD progressive monitor, it looks so good I thought I could reach over to my monitor and slide the window open, but checking the footage on my Sony crt in SD shows alot of interlaced artifacts because it is too sharp, like if you had scan a picture at very high resolution to be display on a interlace tv, I am using frame blending offset technique to minimized the interlaced artifacts but it is still anoying, you guys have any other trick I can try?
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 05:10 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 140
I'd apply just a small amount of blur - if you'r on final cut, 2 or 3 on the blur filter should do enough, and it wouldn't take away much resolution.
My advice is that you should set up the sharpness level of the camera while connected to a sd crt...
Sergio Barbosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 07:58 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amman-Jordan
Posts: 112
It sounds really funny, we are talking about sharpness these days !!! :)

there is a filter called "reduce interlaced flicker" in premiere / after effects / photoshop i guess..
Amr Toukhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 08:55 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Thanks for the suggestions, I did try the blur and flicker reduced filters, it works if the camera is still but doesn't work if the camera was tilting or panning, I don't want to go into the menu and change because I'm shooting primaly for HD, SD is second.
Thanks.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network