Newbie A1 owner - no audio via xlr - Help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2007, 06:51 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oella, Maryland
Posts: 12
Newbie A1 owner - no audio via xlr - Help!

I have my brand new A1 here and seem to be having an issue with the audio. I'm sure it's due to me. I'm a total newbie so be kind.

Camera mic works fine.

I've connected a Rode NTG-2 shotgun to ch1 and no matter what I do I get no audio through it.

Line/mic is set to line.
Ch1/Ch2 is selected. Mic is going into xlr ch1.

ATT for both ch1 and 2 is set to off. (I tried setting it to on)

Phantom power for ch1 is on.

In the audio setup menu the input is xlr.

Er, um what toggle to I need to toggle to get the audio working here?

Thanks!

Geoffrey S. Baker
Geoffrey Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 07:06 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
I don't have an XH A1 manual handy.

I suggest you switch the line/mic to mic.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 07:27 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oella, Maryland
Posts: 12
I thought I tried that....just did it again and volia, it works. Thanks much. It won't be my last question!

GSB
Geoffrey Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 08:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
That Rode uses a AA, why do you have Phantom turned on? Should be off.
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 08:56 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
According to the online literature, that mic uses either AA batteries or Phantom. Shooter's choice.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 09:07 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Bauer
According to the online literature, that mic uses either AA batteries or Phantom. Shooter's choice.
Too quick to type, if there are AA batts in there, no need for Phantom, how's that :-)
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 04:18 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 6
Would you guys advise Phantom power? Because I hear people it drains the batteries but others think it's a big pro!

For me I ordered the: PSC DV SGM1
Rik van der Kroon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 06:55 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
In general (Background information):

For some microphones, the specifications (performance) of the microphone differ depending on whether battery power or phantom power is used.

In general, microphones perform better when using proper phantom power.

Please note that not all equipment provides proper phantom power even though it is labeled as such.

For most professional microphones, the specification calls for 48 volts DC +-4 volts. Some phantom power supplies do not supply the full 48 volts, better quality or professional, equipment meets this specification.




Specific Information for the Rode NTG-2 Shotgun Microphone:

The only difference in specifications, according to Rode's published specifications concerns the output impedence:

Output impedance:
250 Ω - phantom power, 350 Ω - battery power

The full specifications are here:

http://www.rodemic.com/downloads/NTG-2_White_Paper.pdf




Recommendation:

With a high quality camera, such as the Canon XH A1, the phantom power supply will provide proper phantom power.

The Canon batteries, either the BP-950g or BP-970g provide a substantial amount of power. The phantom power option will not significately affect your camera's run time.

I would use the Camera's phantom power option.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoffrey Baker View Post
I've connected a Rode NTG-2 shotgun to ch1 and no matter what I do I get no audio through it.

Line/mic is set to line.
Uhmmm.... why do have the input set to Line if you're using a mic?
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 04:09 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: East Hanover, NJ
Posts: 10
XLR Audio

Did you turn the Xlr inputs on in the camera menu? Do you have it on auto or manual to control the volume. I am having a problem with manual in that it is very low. Thank goodness the auto worked fine. I had a Sony mike on channel one and a wireless on channel 2. When you put the menu tp XLR on it will shut off the built in mike.

Don Deignan
Don Deignan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 04:21 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Schipborg, The Netherlands
Posts: 7
I attached the Audio Technica AT897, it works fine. I read in this topic you could turn the pantompower on in the menu? I can't find this in the menu.
Rchard Paas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 05:09 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
No, the phantom power switches are on the front of the XLR housing.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 05:18 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Deignan View Post
I am having a problem with manual in that it is very low. Don Deignan
Don, surely you've noticed that the mic volume controls are actually backwards. I assume Canon's reasoning was users would use their thumb on the edge of the volume wheels & to change the level, they thought users would prefer "up" to raise volume & "down" to lower volume. Ridiculous design, but it's something we have to get used to & live with.

Bill

Last edited by Bill Busby; March 11th, 2007 at 03:35 AM.
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2007, 12:01 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Schipborg, The Netherlands
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Busby View Post
No, the phantom power switches are on the front of the XLR housing. Bill
Thank you for this info! so simple :D
Rchard Paas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2007, 01:50 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Busby View Post
Don, surely you've noticed that the mic volume controls are actually backwards. I assume Canon's reasoning was users would use their thumb on the edge of the volume wheels & to change the level, they thought users would prefer "up" to raise volume & "down" to lower volume. Ridiculous design, but it's something we have to get used to & live with.

Bill

making the POTS backwards ??

OK.

Not marking a "0" and a "10" (so that there's a visual cue as to how things are working) ???

IDIOTIC !!
Barry Richard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network