Shock mount for ME66 on A1 that DOESN'T use the acc. shoe? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2007, 10:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
Shock mount for ME66 on A1 that DOESN'T use the acc. shoe?

I came across this universal shock mount, and was wondering if anyone's used it on the A1's side clamp with a ME66 or similar? B&H doesn't have many details for it, but it looks like it would work pretty well.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation

thoughts?
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
Looks useful. Look also for the "J Mount" or "J Bar" (not sure exactly) which is similar idea but with a more versatile shoe-mount at one end, rather than a rubber-band mic shock-mount. There have been a couple of threads about it around here recently, so a search should turn up all the details.
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 11:25 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
I'm planning to put a Rode NTG1 mic into the A1's own holder - will it fit? If so, what is the reason for an extra holder (apart from perhaps better shock dumping)?
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 04:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Weeks
I came across this universal shock mount, and was wondering if anyone's used it on the A1's side clamp with a ME66 or similar? B&H doesn't have many details for it, but it looks like it would work pretty well.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation
thoughts?
I use the Jrod and Sennheiser ME66/K6P with my Canon XH-A1.
Anthony Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 09:29 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
I was thinking about picking this one up. Seems like a quicker in and out than the jrod.

http://tinyurl.com/2pr2vp
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Siegal
I was thinking about picking this one up. Seems like a quicker in and out than the jrod.

http://tinyurl.com/2pr2vp
Please write a review once u get it.
Anthony Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:02 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: currently in Kigali, Rwanda
Posts: 144
Hi guys,

I prefer this option by Rycote:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation

It comes in three sizes (this is the smallest), and is very quick to take off the camera and put on a boom since it's threaded at the bottom.

Piotr, to answer your question, I use this thing so that I can mount a mic with a softie onto the camera. It gets the whole setup back far enough so that it isn't in frame. Having said that, I normally just have it on a boom anyway.
Tom Vandas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:32 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks Tom; but does it mean it has been checked that a mic some 21cm in length (like the Rode NTG1) - when mounted directly in the A1 own holder - would inevitably show in the frame? I'd like to know that before ordering the mike:)
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 06:54 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki
I'm planning to put a Rode NTG1 mic into the A1's own holder - will it fit? If so, what is the reason for an extra holder (apart from perhaps better shock dumping)?
The NTG1 is to thin for the mounting on the XH A1, it's simply fixed though with a little bit of old wet suit or bike inner tube cut to lenth. It does pick up the zoom motor so mounting it higher up in a shock mount system should do the trick there and there's no problem of mike in shot. I got one when I bought the camera and mostly have had the mike on a stand up close and out of shot, it does the trick.
Kevin Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 12:20 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: currently in Kigali, Rwanda
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki
Thanks Tom; but does it mean it has been checked that a mic some 21cm in length (like the Rode NTG1) - when mounted directly in the A1 own holder - would inevitably show in the frame? I'd like to know that before ordering the mike:)
My shortest shotgun is about 29cm and only comes into shot with a softie on. So, I have to move the whole thing back a bit. 21cm is fairly short for a shotgun, and may be okay even with a softie on. I always use wind protection outdoors.

Kevin also has a good point about motor noise. Getting up and away helps on any camera.

To tell the truth, if I had an A1, I would just buy a softie for the onboard mic to capture ambient audio. With a shotgun you'll still want to get as close to the sound as you can, as per Kevin's suggestion of a stand. I even use a short boom and operate my camera at the same time, if I'm alone. It's a pain, but for me a shotgun on camera is only marginally more useful than the onboard mic. If you are interviewing people, you have to get that mic off the camera, or get the camera right into people's faces. In my experience, people don't like cameras in the faces.
Tom Vandas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 12:32 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
With the A1, you need a shotgun if you want ambient noise and a lav, because you can't use internal on one channel and external on another.
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 02:53 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: currently in Kigali, Rwanda
Posts: 144
Sorry, Stu, I wasn't very clear. I would generally record voice and ambience separately.

However, I'm surprized the A1 won't let you record from the onboard mic to one track and an external mic to the other, at the same time.
Tom Vandas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:05 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
It is surprising, and a bit of a disappointment. Still, if they'd enable switching between internal and xlr mics via a custom key, wouldn't be too big a deal.
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 04:37 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Siegal
With the A1, you need a shotgun if you want ambient noise and a lav, because you can't use internal on one channel and external on another.
Out of curiosity, which camera in this price range allows for mixing the internal/external mic signals?
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 09:38 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 135
I found the standard mount to just pass through too much noise.

I removed the standard mic mount from my A1 and use the shoe adapter shock mount that came with my NTG1. It works great and I don't have the side mount taking up space in my bag. I had to use a really good carbon-tip screwdriver to get the screws out of the standard mount but it does come off. I will only put it back on if I ever sell the A1.
Bryan Suthard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network