Free Run Time Code at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2007, 11:45 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Free Run Time Code

Anybody knows of a way that I can sync 3 A1 freerun timecode? I will buy you a six pack for sure.
With the Sony Z1 you could use the remote and point at all camera and reset it to sync but I can't do that with A1, the manual said you have to push, but that is no guarantee I can push all camera at the same exact time. )-:
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 05:19 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Perhaps start all thee camcorders rolling from pause on a blank stretch of tape at the same time using a remote control. That should start the time code at zero on each camcorder, and should have the tiem synced within a frame or two. as long as they continue to run withut pause. If you pause a camcorder, use rec search to have them paused at the same frame number and repeast the start process using a remote control.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 07:00 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
I'm pretty sure this was posted here a while back... the same procedure used for XL2 should work on these cams

http://dvinfo.net/canonxl2/articles/article11.php
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 07:49 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I can't think of any reason why my XL2 Free Run time code article (linked above in Nick's post) wouldn't work for the XH A1. Should be very easy to do.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 08:07 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Weeks
I'm pretty sure this was posted here a while back... the same procedure used for XL2 should work on these cams

http://dvinfo.net/canonxl2/articles/article11.php

Nick, send me your address, I will send you a 6 pack of your choice, can't guarantee that it will still be cold though. Man I did not see the menu button on the remote, this is great.
khoi@proeditproductions.com
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 08:10 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
I can't think of any reason why my XL2 Free Run time code article (linked above in Nick's post) wouldn't work for the XH A1. Should be very easy to do.
Chris, if I ever go down your way, I will look you up and buy you lunch my friend.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 08:33 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham
Nick, send me your address, I will send you a 6 pack of your choice, can't guarantee that it will still be cold though. Man I did not see the menu button on the remote, this is great.
khoi@proeditproductions.com
haha, I can't take credit for that article, but you could still send me the 6-pack :)

That feature is going to save me so much time on my next multicam shoot. Took me hours to line up the footage on visual cues, especially when I had 10-12 tapes
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 11:20 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Weeks
haha, I can't take credit for that article, but you could still send me the 6-pack :)

That feature is going to save me so much time on my next multicam shoot. Took me hours to line up the footage on visual cues, especially when I had 10-12 tapes
Don't expect it to be perfect, I've used this from time to time with several XL2's and it does work, however it seems that each time the cam is powered down and back up there is a slight drift, not sure why. Also if you're running over several days, it's best to re-sync daily.

Just a suggestion...

MIGUEL
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 07:51 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
I tried this last night with my new A1s and it failed twice, then we ran out of time. Not sure what happened, but I set the time code on both with the remote. All seemed to be going well. Then once they started running they were a half second off. Hmmmmm.

There was some delay in the signal to the monitor, and one cam had a longer cable than the other, but I can't see how that would lead to 1/2 second.

I'll capture the footage today and see how close it is in post. I really hope this works, though.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network