Auto Focus "BAD" Hunting Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2007, 05:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Auto Focus "BAD" Hunting Problem

ARGGGG, It's happening to me too, it's so bad that even when it finally decides to focus on something and you think "well finally" it starts pulsating in and out.

"It's worse on HDV24" "Handheld or tripod" "Zoomed all the way in or Wide Angle"

I never had this issue with any other camcorder whether DV or HDV.

I don't mind pulling manual focus here and there, but this is definetly not right, not for casual shooting, running behind kids, etc.

Just bought it 4 days ago so it's going back to the store. I even tried turning Instant AF off (I believe that's the name), even when pushing the assist button it struggles to find it. I have seen footage of people who didn't even know how to use the cam so they used it all auto and focus looked great, I tested another cam here in ATL and it was fine too.

Suggestions/comments?
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 06:32 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 169
The demo that we have had for 2 weeks from Canon has been doing the same thing. We ar inclined to go with the V1's, or maybe the Z1's again. the focus was slow to respond and was hunting even when there was good contrast. Then the problem with manual focusing was that the screen and viewfinder are very difficult to see what is sharp. One of our guys shot wrestling with it and it was hunting all over. The next night he shot wrestling with the V1 and it was sharp, and even held focus when the ref. walked through the frame.

Funny thing is that the demo tape from Canon had examples compairing the A1 focus to the "others"--you should have seen how fast the Canon focused in that tape. It was more like a still camera.
Jeff Rhode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 06:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Rhode
The demo that we have had for 2 weeks from Canon has been doing the same thing. We ar inclined to go with the V1's, or maybe the Z1's again. the focus was slow to respond and was hunting even when there was good contrast. Then the problem with manual focusing was that the screen and viewfinder are very difficult to see what is sharp. One of our guys shot wrestling with it and it was hunting all over. The next night he shot wrestling with the V1 and it was sharp, and even held focus when the ref. walked through the frame.

Funny thing is that the demo tape from Canon had examples compairing the A1 focus to the "others"--you should have seen how fast the Canon focused in that tape. It was more like a still camera.

Interesting!

I hope they don't give me any issues and just exchange it. I know them pretty well so I don't think that will be a problem.
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 03:18 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
Ha!

My old JVC GR HD-1 did that.

Almost pulled my hair out. Something is wrong.
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 03:30 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
Is something really wrong or are the expectations of auto focus too high?

Check against a target object that is well lit and has plenty of detail. It is possible to confuse any auto focus system under adverse conditions.

I have been extremely impressed by the IAF system in conjunction with manual focus. I get as close as I can manually then push IAF to make sure I've hit focus. The more you assist the AF system the better the results will be unless you really do have a fault then get the camera checked out by Canon asap.

TT
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 03:33 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Tremble
Is something really wrong or are the expectations of auto focus too high?

Check against a target object that is well lit and has plenty of detail. It is possible to confuse any auto focus system under adverse conditions.

I have been extremely impressed by the IAF system in conjunction with manual focus. I get as close as I can manually then push IAF to make sure I've hit focus. The more you assist the AF system the better the results will be unless you really do have a fault then get the camera checked out by Canon asap.

TT
Been there done that, and the answer was all the same. One weird thing I noted though is that if you pay detailed attention while the cam is hunting for focus, the zoom actually moves slightly back by itself, I found that strange.

Something is wrong.
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 07:45 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Do you have high speed zoom activated in the custom functions file you're using? It makes the pulsing worse!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 07:53 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki
Do you have high speed zoom activated in the custom functions file you're using? It makes the pulsing worse!

Nope! not at all.
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network