Export through A1 or Deck ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2007, 01:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Malta| Europe
Posts: 55
Export through A1 or Deck ?

What are you using to transfer video from tape to computer ? Are you transferring it through the A1, another camcorder or a deck?
Adrian Paul Spiteri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 04:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 64
I personally am using the camera itself, as I can't afford a deck. However, I've heard that so far only the Canon line (such as the A1, the HV10/20, or *possibly* the XH-L1) can output 24F. Correct me if I'm wrong there, but I think that's how things stand so far.
__________________
Byron Huskey
Rhapsodist Productions
"Film as dream, film as music. No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls." - Ingmar Bergman
Byron Huskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 05:54 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
All the Canon HDV cameras can be used as decks for the 24f HDV mode. If you're shooting 60i, allegedly you can use a Sony deck. Shooting 24p in SD mode works on Sony decks. The only thing that does not work on any deck is 24f in HDV, as I understand, so you have to use one of the cameras as a deck. The upcoming HV20 would be a nice thing to have, since it not only will play out your 24p footage, you can also shoot 24p with it.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 12:04 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
We had this discussion only two days ago Adrian.
Check out the post "A1 capture options?"
I shall be using the A1 and making the most of Final Cut's media manager to minimise the wear and tear on the cameras heads.
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 01:15 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
What I've been doing is to set an in point at the head and out point at the end of the tape and capture the whole thing at once. FCP divides it into individual clips automatically, so you eliminate the start-stop-rewind for every clip.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 04:42 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 168
Is there any word on a deck from canon that will handle the HD 24f? And on top of that...handle DVCAM size tapes as well..like the new sony deck does
http://bssc.sel.sony.com/Broadcastan...p=142&id=84297
Jeremiah McLamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 04:50 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
HEY Bill. Are you talking about Batch capture? Is this method timecode reliant? Haven't heard of such a workflow in FCP, but it sounds like just what i need. Can you give me more info of how it works. I like batch capture but its tough on the heads and often doesn't work. I often end up using capture now which i'm told can cause out of sync behaviour though its always been fine for me.
Dom
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 05:06 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor
What I've been doing is to set an in point at the head and out point at the end of the tape and capture the whole thing at once. FCP divides it into individual clips automatically, so you eliminate the start-stop-rewind for every clip.
I do this too and it works great.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 07:18 PM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
In the earlier version of FCP you could capture the whole tape, and it would capture as one clip, but then you could turn on the DV...uh, I forget what it's called, but it would show you separate clips for every time the camera turned on; ie., it would recognize time code breaks. Then you could label each one if you wanted. It made capture faster because you don't go through each clip, and no back and forth on the heads.

With 5.1.2 it does the same thing, but it appears to me that each clip is separated as its loaded, even though the tape never stops. Same end result, only better. Or, it could be that's an HDV thing. Anyway, it makes using the camera for a deck a hell of a lot less painful. Think about an hour tape...there might be 50 individual takes or more. For every take you would play to locate it, back up to set your in point, go forward for your out point, and then when it captured it would rewind, play to the in point, stop and recue, then play to the outpoint, stop and recue, and do that for all 50 takes.

With this system the camera only plays through one time, cueing at the beginning and the end.

In fact, the tape I captured over the weekend, I set an in point and did Capture Now, thinking I'd just hit stop when it got near the end of the last take. I forgot about it, but the system is smarter than I am. It stopped automatically at the end of the last take. I had thought it would capture 20 minutes of snow. FCP works very well with the Canon and its 24p mode.

I did my first HDV edit over the weekend. It was a hand held, quick and dirty, no lights, shot at +6 db set of interviews with Billy Bob Thornton, Virginia Madsen and the Polish Brothers. I think a small, low res version is up now on hollywoodbitchslap.com (part of efilmcritic.com) but I don't have the exact url. Anyway, I captured the footage as above, edited it very quickly into a 24p timeline. It was just like editing DV. FCP's color effects are real time, but dissolves and titles are not. Then before exporting I hit Render All, and it said something like Conforming HDV, and it rendered. Took about 5-10 minutes for a 5-6 minute program, including titles, a cheesy cube spin effect and color correction. I exported as a reference QT, then made letterbox compressions from that. I also authored a quickie DVD. Apparently everything stayed 24p all the way. It's too easy.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 07:53 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor
...and it would capture as one clip, but then you could turn on the DV...uh, I forget what it's called,...
Avid calls this DV Scene Extraction & works with TOD TC. It doesn't really make "true" clips though... they are sub-clips, basically just pointers to the original media. I'd assume FCP works the same & has a different name for it as well. I always do this after the fact, since there's a limit (forgot how many) you can do while capturing.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 08:16 PM   #11
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
FCP used to do the same as Avid, but would give you a list of all the clips rather than just pointers. Now, with HDV, it seems to actually drop them in as individual clips. In the past you'd turn down a pointer and there would be all your subclips, but the whole tape would have been loaded as one big clip. I haven't checked this for sure to see what happens if I delete one clip, but the way it looks is that every clip is separate. Magic.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 08:38 AM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
It is possible to read 25F with any sony deck?

I'm planning to buy the A1( pal territory) but I'm a little bit confused about the F mode. Are the recordings in 25F imposible to read well in a Sony deck or the problem only occurs with 24F?

Thanks.
Ibon Olaskoaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 02:33 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
Cheers Bill.
I've been earning a living using FCP for the last year and this is the first i've heard of this feature.
Just goes to show how easy it is miss out on the gems inside that box!
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 02:39 PM   #14
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I edited on Avid for many years before I knew about its similar feature. Doesn't matter how long you edit on either one, there's always something new to learn.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 02:50 PM   #15
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Ibon, my understanding is that every camera's 24p mode is unique. JVC's 24p won't play on a Sony deck and neither will Canon's 24F, which is the same as 24P. JVC wants you to buy a JVC deck, Sony wants you to buy a Sony deck, and Canon doesn't make a deck. This was similar to the early days of DV, when Panasonic's DVCPRO wouldn't play on early Sony decks. Later on, however, there was more compatibility and everybody's DV played on everybody else's deck, although the decks would mostly only record their own brand of DV. Maybe eventually there will be a deck to play JVC 24p, Sony Cinewhatever 24p, Canon's 24f and so on.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network