Interview setup -- sound issue at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
Interview setup -- sound issue

Here's a clip I shot today of a City Councilman, for an upcoming event. Bobbled the zoom a bit at the start, but I only had 2 takes, and this is the one...

Note the sound, in this somewhat "live" room (which was tiny, but the only room we could use). Anyone know of a good filter in Soundtrack Pro to take the curse off of the liveness of the room and the hollowness of the sound? Thanks.

http://www.mostlymagic.tv/demo/smith1.mov

Last edited by Jeff Nelson; March 1st, 2007 at 08:25 PM.
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 03:24 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amman-Jordan
Posts: 112
i think for a start you can use a mono track of the video,
then start from there.
Amr Toukhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 11:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Sounds perfectly fine to me.

It's not like he's in a studio, but you can hear every word and the quality's quite good.

-Alex
Alex Milne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 12:05 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
I played with it some, got rid of a bit of the liveness... Thanks guys.

Revised sound:

http://www.mostlymagic.tv/demo/smith.mov
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 06:49 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Luis Obispo CA
Posts: 1,189
hey jeff...it's a two-way street around here.....so what did you do to fix the problem?

(btw, it sounds really good)..
Barry Goyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 07:34 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
Hi Barry: I used FatEQ in Soundtrack Pro, and fooled with the dials, dropped the top, punched up the bottom and it helped a lot, at least on the big speakers here. So much to that program, really need to learn how it works sometime instead of just trial and error!
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 05:49 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 320
Looks great, especially the lighting and you've done well correcting the sound. Just curious as to why you couldn't fix the audio in your editng app (FCP?), instead of having to go to Soundtrack?
Glenn Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 08:48 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
Perhaps I could have made the same fix right in FCP, but I'm new to Mac, new to FCP, have a lot to learn there after years on Premiere Pro. That's why I took it into Soundtrack Pro, which of course I'm also learning.
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network