Capture-Anyone else finding this? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 4th, 2007, 07:05 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ens, The Netherlands
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Davis View Post
I was shooting a wedding a couple weeks ago and I had that issue... It was about 30 min of footage in one solid take and it divided it out in 3 clips...? Possibly and HDV buffer running out? I am REALLY curious to know what is causing this...

In one of my shots someone was at the beginning of the isle (splits the clip) and then is at the end of the isle... I capture with vegas and it is set to stop on dropped frames so that is not the issue...
I have a question: Do you use Windows XP?
And how is your capturing drive formated? NTFS of FAT32?
Gert Kracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2007, 07:26 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
My Laptop is a brand new core 2 duo with SATA 3 Hard Drive and built in firewire. Got it on both my tower and my laptop.
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2007, 07:33 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 62
I got a ton of dropped frames with my original Canon tape (about 4 in the 63 minutes). Since I've been using my 5 free Sony tapes, I've had 0. On those I think I've shot about 5 hours.
Andrew Ott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2007, 07:36 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ens, The Netherlands
Posts: 198
And you capture with Premiere Pro 2.0 ? or Vegas ?
Maybe it's interesting to search for a solution. I also have a laptop and I didn't ran in to any of those problems...yet.

Let me know the software (+ Version) and I can run some tests.
Gert Kracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 01:16 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 157
I got a drop out onthe original Canon tape. I had some issues lately also, just for test shooting luckily. Couldnt locate locally any of the usual High quality pana tapes I usually use, so I got the next step down. Every tape has a dropout. Go back to the high quality and never an issue.
Noel Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 02:19 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 199
Hey guys, the sony and canon tapes are made by one company. If you want to see difference try the pany
Kiflom Bahta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:01 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gert Kracht View Post
I have a question: Do you use Windows XP?
And how is your capturing drive formated? NTFS of FAT32?
Windowx XP pro NTFS Sony Vegas 7.0d...
Doug Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 03:17 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ens, The Netherlands
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Davis View Post
Windowx XP pro NTFS Sony Vegas 7.0d...
I captured a whole tape with Vegas 7.0d
For the recordings I used a Sony HDV tape, containing 60 minutes of material.
The whole tape was captured without problems. No dropped frames.

So there is still a problem. What's wrong on your side....cable? Computer? or maybe the 1394 port?

Last edited by Gert Kracht; March 7th, 2007 at 01:04 AM.
Gert Kracht is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network