HD-SDI On XHG1: Mainly For While Shooting? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2007, 09:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 89
HD-SDI On XHG1: Mainly For While Shooting?

Is the main purpose of the SDI output on the G1 so that you can extract uncompressed footage WHILE recording, say while recording to a RAID drive? I can see how this would be appealing to those who shoot narrative or strictly in studio, but to me, a run and gun documentarian, it certainly doesn't appear to justify the $3000. Is there any benefit to using the SDI on playback, as compared to say Firewire? Bear with me, I'm just trying to make sure I'm ruling this option out for the right reasons.
Todd Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 09:43 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
If you're planning to do a lot of effects/correction etc. with your HDV material, it would be a good idea to capture via SDI then in a 4.2.2 colourspace and an uncompressed codec. That could be a reason to use SDI post shooting.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 09:52 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 89
I could see that, but still, with the type of docs I do, there isn't much call for a whole lot of effects. Thanks for validating my notion. Here's a question - has there been any talk of "Andromedizing" the XHA1, or having a way to add the outputs later on if need be?
Todd Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 10:42 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 259
But once it is recorded to tape wouldn't it be compressed to the file type on the tape?

What good would SDI do?
Doug Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 12:18 PM   #5
Starway Pictures
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Studio City
Posts: 581
Canon's HDV implementation is amazing and nearly bullet proof. Because you're using the camera for more run and gun type shooting I wouldn't spend the extra money on the HDSDI. You'll rarely use it.
Robert Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 07:38 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Davis View Post
But once it is recorded to tape wouldn't it be compressed to the file type on the tape?

What good would SDI do?
SDI is good if you want a realtime capture/transcoding to more robust editing codecs in QT or AVI. (and I edit often in HDV despite its inconveniences)

With the embedded SDI on the G1 you get audio and timecode, which the H1 doesn't have via SDI.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network