A1 Gain settings at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 181
A1 Gain settings

What do you have your Gain Settings at?

I figured...since Canon likes to jump by 6 db (6 to 12) then so will I.


Low = -3
Med = 3
High = 6

The AGC Limit I set to 12

It is my experience so far, based on only a couple hours of testing, that the A1's gain settings match up 3db lower than the FX1's.

Example

A1 -3 = FX1 0
A1 3 = FX1 6
A1 6 = FX1 9
A1 12= FX1 15

I find that this gives me 4 presets. So if A1 6db isn't enough I simply flick the AGC switch to on to get 12db

What are your gain settings and why?
__________________
Cana Video Productions, LLC
Manchester, NH

Last edited by Cesar Ruiz; March 23rd, 2007 at 03:23 PM.
Cesar Ruiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 03:22 PM   #2
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
How are you setting the gain limit...which menu?
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:18 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 181
I must be going crazy. I was sure I set it and saw it but can't find it now
__________________
Cana Video Productions, LLC
Manchester, NH
Cesar Ruiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Audio Setup/XLR Gain - 12dB?

Is that what you saw? :)

It's wishful thinking auto gain could be set to a max limit though.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:57 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 181
I must have been dreaming about my old FX1s. OK so I have now set my L M H as follows

L: -3
M: 6
H: 12

Anyone else wish to share?

Bummed that there is no limit on the AGC... with all of other customizations this seems to be a bad oversight.
__________________
Cana Video Productions, LLC
Manchester, NH
Cesar Ruiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 05:18 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
I'm also using -3 / +6 / 12 for my gain switch.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 06:34 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bruce Pennisula, Canada
Posts: 316
my setup...

low -3
mid 0
high +3

I tend to think that the low range of adding gain is more important that the high range, so for anything above +3 I set the camera to auto and try to adjust how much light gets in by the iris whenever possible.

In the low range I want to usually only add small amounts of gain to help the camera out but still maintain the least possible signal noise. This setup seems to work for most outdoor situations well (sun or cloud)
James Hooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 07:53 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
[QUOTE=James Hooey;647065]my setup...

In the low range I want to usually only add small amounts of gain to help the camera out but still maintain the least possible signal noise.


James,

That makes a lot of sense to me.
My gain settings are the same...although I can't say
I arrived at them with as much sense as you have.

David
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 07:46 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Hooey View Post
for anything above +3 I set the camera to auto and try to adjust how much light gets in by the iris whenever possible.
Hi James. I find that auto gain gives very grainy results, so would never use it through choice.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 08:37 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 181
That's what I was thinking. Too bad there's no gain limit. I wonder what the chances are of a firmware update?
__________________
Cana Video Productions, LLC
Manchester, NH
Cesar Ruiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 01:56 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bruce Pennisula, Canada
Posts: 316
I agree and understand that auto gain adds noise to the signal. In my logic I use manual gains with minimal adjustments...ie the -3, 0 +3 asssignments to my manual gain. In those situations where more gain is needed..ie:indoors I already know that more gain is likely needed and let it work in auto mode and try to give the CCDs as much light as possible by opening up the iris full wide. I do most of my videography outdoors and want to keep the lowest possible noise signal with low gain settings for those situations.
James Hooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 09:25 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi James. I understand the rationale for your chosen gain switch settings. But using auto gain indoors means you lose control of the exposure. For example, if you pan or move the camera around and the image brightness changes, the gain will adjust even though you are otherwise using a manual exposure mode. For me, I would prefer to set the gain to a fixed amount, even if it means going into the menu to do it. Would be nice having the same amount of control as the XL cameras though.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 08:12 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bruce Pennisula, Canada
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter View Post
Hi James. I understand the rationale for your chosen gain switch settings. But using auto gain indoors means you lose control of the exposure. For example, if you pan or move the camera around and the image brightness changes, the gain will adjust even though you are otherwise using a manual exposure mode. For me, I would prefer to set the gain to a fixed amount, even if it means going into the menu to do it. Would be nice having the same amount of control as the XL cameras though.

Richard
Richard,
When your moving across from one brightness to another are you changing the iris to keep exposure relatively constant? Just curious.
James Hooey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network