A-1 able to download HDV ftg in SD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2007, 09:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
A-1 able to download HDV ftg in SD?

Ok, this may be an obvious and/or dumb question,
but you guys seem to be pretty patient with these
kinds of questions...

If I shoot in HDV and hit the right settings changes on the A-1
can I digitize that HDV footage into FCP as Standard Definition?

I've read the manual, I've searched on several forums,
just not sure the A-1 can do this...some Sony's can I understand.

Thank you,
(ducking)


David
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 12:19 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Yes you can.
The A1 will down-convert from HD to SD on the fly.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 02:18 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silverthorne, CO
Posts: 36
However, you won't get a SD picture that fills the frame. Your SD output will either be anamorphic or letterbox. Just wanted to let you know, in case you were equating SD with full frame 4:3.
Dick Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 02:21 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
Thanks guys,
that's what I thought,
and thanks for the reminder about
anamorphic or letter-box too.

All the best,

David
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 02:24 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 13
Well what about using Premiere Pro? Can you digitize HDV into a SD 4:3 project?
Ari Perilstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 02:53 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
in Vegas, i take a 1440 m2t and event crop the area of the frame
that i want in 4:3 at 720x480. I'll use track motion if there is movement to follow. Then I will export it as DV and import it into my SD 4:3 timeline.
I could just add that into the SD timeline too...but it gets messy.

The only reason I would ever do this would be to implement HDV b-roll into
an sd project.

Frankly, just work in 16:9 and save yourself the trouble.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network