Live Hdv capture from A1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2007, 10:46 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Arlington MA, USA
Posts: 35
Live Hdv capture from A1?

Is it true that there is no way to capture HD straight through firewire without going to tape first? In FCP the only setting that works at all for me is AIC from the tape. Nothing else is recognized.
I can do it this way, I suppose - but wouldn't the signal be better if I captued the footage straight through? A lot of what I do is right at the computer.

thanks
GRF
Glenn French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2007, 11:47 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
Canon Console and the "old" DV Rack application (Adobe bought them and is renaming it to something else) will do just that... in PC land, anyways. I do believe there's similar software for Macs that someone will mention.

BTW, the signal captured is the same to tape vs. live, assuming the same HDV codec is used on the computer side. Tapes are recording digitally... assuming there's no dropouts, its all the same 1s and 0s either way.

I would record to both tape and live, given the choice. Tape is a great archival medium. And cheap!

Brian Brown
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2007, 12:59 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 106
That would be Adobe OnLocation ( http://www.adobe.com/products/premie...n/?xNav=twPPOL )

It's included in Premiere Pro CS3. Now if Adobe could just buy the Aspect HD guys and maybe MainConcept, they'd really be swingin' .. :-)
__________________
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night."
-- Edgar Allan Poe
Even Solberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2007, 01:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn French View Post
Is it true that there is no way to capture HD straight through firewire without going to tape first?
It's easy to capture HDV through firewire. It is impossible to capture uncompressed HD through firewire, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn French View Post
Wouldn't the signal be better if I captued the footage straight through?
No. HDV live through firewire is the exact same as HDV from a tape. The signal would be better if you captured live from the component output, but that takes much more expensive equipment.

The free, simple program "HDVSplit" works great to capture live HDV. You may decode and view it live as you capture as well in full-screen or reduced size. It's Windows only, but I'm sure there are a plethora of HDV capture programs for OS X, too.
Daniel Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 12:19 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Arlington MA, USA
Posts: 35
Thanks for the answers - I guess I'll just tape and capture. It looks fine to me - I just wanted to make sure I wasn't losing anything

GRF
Glenn French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 01:11 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Even Solberg View Post
That would be Adobe OnLocation ( http://www.adobe.com/products/premie...n/?xNav=twPPOL )

It's included in Premiere Pro CS3. Now if Adobe could just buy the Aspect HD guys and maybe MainConcept, they'd really be swingin' .. :-)
oh gawd... dont say that dude...
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network