uncompressed from XHA-1? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:39 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 85
Downconverting in the camera is going to give you the poorest quality from HDV. Best method, tho takes a lot of rendering time, is to cut in HDV, then export to MPEG. The difference in the image quality is significant.
Geoff Dills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:46 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Dills View Post
Downconverting in the camera is going to give you the poorest quality from HDV. Best method, tho takes a lot of rendering time, is to cut in HDV, then export to MPEG. The difference in the image quality is significant.
Yes - when I've upgraded my computer, this is what I expect I'll do. The final render to SD DVD format will probably be no slower than my current machine which takes about 4 hours for a 90 minute avi file using Canopus ProCoder Express. I leave it running over night!
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 12:07 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
Analog component works great with a Blackmagic HD card.
it is easier to key than HDV and yields more resolution.

But is obviously NOT portable. :(
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 01:38 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 114
What does "not portable" means in this context?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Griffith View Post
But is obviously NOT portable. :(
Maksim Yankovskiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 01:40 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
Your would need to be connected to a MacPro or similar w/fast HD array.

-will
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 03:03 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 163
Well portability has been solved with the AJA IO-HD Apple ProRes 422 converter. Using a Mac platform such as the a fully furnished Macbook Pro you can take uncompressed HD with the 4:2:2 colorspace at full 1920X1080 resolution and have this awesome machine convert it via ProRes 422 realtime. You'll transfer data that can be handled by Firewire to connect to your laptop and be completely free from the tower. The data rate is almost that of SD video and can be a feasible solution in the future. I know this is something thats making a huge impact on my first HD purchase. What I want to know is if the analog output of the A1 is full uncompressed HD and is beneficial like the Sony HVR-V1's HDMI output. If so, how good is the conversion of the analog signal to a digital signal? Can't wait to hear some results.
Mike Gorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 03:11 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
It will be better than recording to tape, but it will not be as pristine as
the V1U HDMI nor the G1 HDSDI, or H1...etc. etc.

It is analog, so there will be an amount of noise that is not present in
a digital signal. However.... it is still much more info than HDV, which
is good.

The new IO will help greatly, but it still is not a portable solution, like say
a 4:2:2 Firestore type device which is completely cable, AC, etc. free.
(Which I hope is introduced by someone sometime soon).

So in conclusion... HDV looks mighty fine from the A1 and the component
output looks even better IMO.
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:03 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 183
Would anyone with a G1 please post a grab from the SDI Out vs HDV to tape so we can compare color etc. Has anyone seen this done on any other site? A picture tells a thousand words.

Would also be neat to see this comparison with some movement in the shot to see if there is difference in artifacts. I've been very impressed with Canon's HDV quality and seen very little artifacts/blocks in the shots. In real world use the Canon footage in HDV is pretty incredible.

-Jonathan
Jonathan Gentry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:48 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Griffith View Post
It will be better than recording to tape, but it will not be as pristine as
the V1U HDMI nor the G1 HDSDI, or H1...etc. etc.

It is analog, so there will be an amount of noise that is not present in
a digital signal. However.... it is still much more info than HDV, which
is good.

The new IO will help greatly, but it still is not a portable solution, like say
a 4:2:2 Firestore type device which is completely cable, AC, etc. free.
(Which I hope is introduced by someone sometime soon).

So in conclusion... HDV looks mighty fine from the A1 and the component
output looks even better IMO.
Good catch, I thought I read somewhere that it was fully portable but it isn't. It needs AC electricity to run so maybe in the future we can see maybe a simplified version for portability? I know I'm thinking really far a head of the game but the IO-HD is a start.
Mike Gorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 02:08 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Griffith View Post
It will be better than recording to tape, but it will not be as pristine as
the V1U HDMI nor the G1 HDSDI, or H1...etc. etc.
SDI and analog are virtually the same as far as I can tell. The Kona card has very good converters, and the Canon's DAC ain't half bad, so the net result is basically an indistinguishable difference.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 02:14 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
Comparing H1 HDSDI to A1 analog here on a Decklink HD
shows more noise on the A1, the AJA card may look a lot
better.

Regardless....both look great. If anyone wants to see some
frames from greenscreen H1 HDSDI capture we just did today to
DVCPROHD email me griffithwb msha com

the A1 would look very similar
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network