How do you capture 30f footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2007, 08:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
How do you capture 30f footage?

Shot a little thing in 30f for the fun of it, but in looking at easy setup on Final Cut Pro, I'm not seeing any preset for HDV 1080 30p. How do you capture footage from the A1 shot in 30f? Thanks.
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 08:27 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
As far as I know, 30f should be captured with the 30p Easy Setup. Technically it's still progressive even though the image is captured in fields. I'm pretty sure it's recorded to tape in individual frames.

Try it out and see! Hope this helps.

--Colin
Colin Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 08:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
Thanks for the suggestion, however there is no 1080 30p HDV easy setup in FCP. There's HDV 1080p24 and HDV 1080p25, but no HDV 1080p30.

I tried capturing at 1080i60, and it captures and can edit in a 60i timeline w/out any render.

How are people editing HDV at this framerate?
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 08:46 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Pfftt, I'm an idiot. I misread your question, and I thought there was an HDV 30p easy setup. I looked myself and you're totally right.

I'm just as clueless as you are. I mean, since you were able to capture, you could change your sequence settings, maybe - change your Quicktime video compressor to H.264 or something? I've heard that recommended, though it seems to me it would compress your footage unnecessarily.

Gah, I don't know. Don't listen to me. I hope that someone has the answer.

--Colin
Colin Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 09:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 157
Yeah, you're going to use the 1080 60i HDV preset for capture and timeline. The 30p is recorded in 30p and converted to 60i, so that's the preset you use. Should work great.
Steve Yager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2007, 09:31 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 194
Okay great, thanks.
Jeff Nelson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network