Problem Please help. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 96
Problem Please help.

I have two A-1's I've shot five weddings with them over the past two months. The second cam is a rear static shot. After reviewing the footage on that camera I've noticed (about 20 min into the footage) their is a time code break for three seconds, the video looks as if you paused the cameras recording and then started it back up a second later, no tape fallout or anything, I've had this happen twice now, (A big headache when your out of sync after that point)..I'm shooting in the HDV mode with Panasonic M63MQ tapes. Anyone with this problem...Gary
Gary J. Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:41 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Actually it sounds like a tape glitch or dropout. Since HDV uses a 15-frame Group Of Pictures, a single hit will wipe out half a second... two in quick succession will take out 30 frames, or a full second.

You might consider using a direct-to-edit recording solution such as the FireStore FS-C, it gives you dual recording (simultaneous to tape, for archive / backup, and to disk, for edit-ready ingest without capture and long recording times).
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 10:15 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
yes, that's drop out. timecode across all dv can be a wicked bitch.
i actually carry a flash and set it off at calculated times during multicam shoots as reference points in case of dropout.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 10:56 AM   #4
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Gary, I use the same tapes as you and have also experienced this problem. Out of about 40 hours of footage I'd say it happened about 3 or 4 times.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 96
Thanks guys, Steve, do you think it's the camera or tape, (i've used Sony excellence tape for my old school GL-1's for eight yrs and never had this problem). This morning I've recorded two one hr tests, no problems. So just live with it, (don't want to), switch tapes to sony, or is it in the camera...Gary, Thanks again for help..
Gary J. Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:30 AM   #6
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Haven't a clue, Gary. I hate to switch tapes at this point. If it becomes a big issue, I might consider going direct to a firestore solution. So far, though, it hasn't been a big problem.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:40 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 96
Steve,I feel a little better....if it's more on the tape side and not the camera. would a tape head cleaner help, or has anyone had this problem with Pana, and then switched to Sony to solve???...
Gary J. Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:43 AM   #8
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
There's probably a million reasons why something like this could happen, dust, etc. It's just really hard to know. I've used these Panasonic tapes for about 5 years and have had minimal problems with them. I've definitely encountered the odd dropout on my DVX but it never became a big problem.

If it continues, I would switch tape brands as a first course of action. If it continues with the new tapes, have it looked at by Canon. If you still can't get anything resolved at that point, I would look into getting a firestore.

As a last resort, I would run around the altar six times backwards at midnight during a blue moon.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:48 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 96
I always do the runaround first, which usually fixes everything..especially being a Catholic altar boy in the early 60's...After only 5 hrs on the pana tapes, if you were me would you consider a switch to Sony at this point..Gary
Gary J. Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 11:49 AM   #10
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
No, I'd stick to the Panasonic, there maybe bigger repercussions switching tape brands.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:01 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
oddly, i've only expereinced dropout on sony hdv tapes.
premium and excellence have been fine.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:16 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 96
My last thought, is that since I own two cameras bought at the same time (B&H) and only one of the cameras is showing this problem, is it leaning towards the camera (or to early to tell)...if so is a replacement camera possible... what do you thind B&H would say..Gary
Gary J. Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:18 PM   #13
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
The question is still the same. It may be the tape you are using. If it's a bad tape, the problem is not going to show up in your other camera. I don't think B&H is going to replace the camera, I think they'll recommend you have a Canon service technician look at it.

You might want to have a chat with a Canon rep if you need more peace of mind.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:52 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
if you did two 60 min tests with no error, it's not the cam.
further, i dont think its even the brand.. it was probably just THAT tape
or something related to that tape at the time...such as condensation or dust upon tape change.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:53 PM   #15
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Yeah, I agree...
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network