XHA1 'LIVE' analog outs are 1080x1920 or 1080x1440? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2007, 09:58 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
XHA1 'LIVE' analog outs are 1080x1920 or 1080x1440?

Hello All,

(CLARIFICATION - LIVE ANALOG OUTS...)

Searching these threads has confirmed that the live analog out signal from the A1 is:
8bit, uncompressed, 4:2:2

BUT

I can't find anything conclusive about the resolution...

so, what's the scoop, is the live ananlog out 1080x1920 or 1080x1440?
(i'm guessing 1080x1920 because i think the 1440 is only after it reaches the HDV codec...)

Thanks,
Lonnie
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 10:54 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie Bell View Post
live analog out signal
Are you referring to the component video HD output?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 09:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 391
Hello Lonnie - there's a good chart of all of the outputs for both the a1 and g1 on page 97 of the manual - you can download the manual from the sticky posts to check it out.. component out is 1440x1080 (sorry)... looks like the only way to get 1920 out is on the SDI terminal of the G1 (in fact, I think the chips are only 1440 and to get to 1920 they do some type of shift...you'd have to check..if this is info is too uncertain to be posted Chris just let me know and I'll edit to remove).

Last edited by Dave Stern; June 8th, 2007 at 09:48 PM. Reason: added parens info at end of post
Dave Stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 10:41 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
yes, Chris, the component HD outs...
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
Dave,
the page you suggested is intended for playback not recording live, and rumor has it that the component analog outs are out before they are hdv encoded thus not converted to a 1440x1080, but remain 1920x1080...

but i'm trying to confirm this...
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie Bell View Post
Dave,
the page you suggested is intended for playback not recording live, and rumor has it that the component analog outs are out before they are hdv encoded thus not converted to a 1440x1080, but remain 1920x1080...

but i'm trying to confirm this...
thanks, good info - pls. post back if you find out. yeah, when you said that about the outputs, that sounds right (e..g not sure why they would need or want to take those post-encoder). that would be great to know if the A1 can put out 1920..also, did you see anything on the native chips being 1440 and then somehow that is upconverted to 1920? just curious - it might not really matter (in my use anyway), but would be good to know...
Dave Stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 12:13 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
come on guys...

i've read the threads, only speculation - anyone know??
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 07:12 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
Hey Lonnie, I havent tried this yet, but why not just go LIVE out to an HD tv and see what it looks like. I think I read somewhere that it does 1920 x 1080 out. You will certainly know if its 1440, it'll be squished.
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 08:12 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
I don't own one yet, Jack! Great idea though. I'm going to buy either the A1 or the G1, and then use the IO HD/ProRes field record workflow...

But if I can save some money and go out 1080x1920 in Analog (A1) - why not?
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 08:50 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Prague, MN
Posts: 112
I hooked up my A1 to my Dell 24" LCD(1920x1200) via component out and here is my take.

With the monitor set at 1:1 scale the video seems to be 1920x1080 but it looks like I'm getting an underscaned image because it doesn't fill the screen horizontally. There is about an inch missing on the left and right side.

One weird thing I encountered when I had the Center Marker and Aspect Ratio Guides on was that the monitor didn't show the Aspect Ratio Guides, it only showed the Center Marker. Why is this?
__________________
Kevin | www.kraentertainment.com
A picture is worth 1,000 words | A 2 hour film at 24fps is worth 172,800,000 words
Kevin Amundson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 01:30 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
kevin, did you use the composite port in back or the BNC port on side?
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 06:39 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV United States
Posts: 361
Kevin - thanks for doing this...

Besides your suggestion of an underscanned image - going the other way could it be an overscan of a 1080x1440 image??

This is not my area here - come on in boys - the waters fine... HELP us non-engineers...
__________________
Lonnie Bell
mamas boy productions
Las Vegas, NV
Lonnie Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Amundson View Post
I hooked up my A1 to my Dell 24" LCD(1920x1200) via component out and here is my take.

With the monitor set at 1:1 scale the video seems to be 1920x1080 but it looks like I'm getting an underscaned image because it doesn't fill the screen horizontally. There is about an inch missing on the left and right side.

One weird thing I encountered when I had the Center Marker and Aspect Ratio Guides on was that the monitor didn't show the Aspect Ratio Guides, it only showed the Center Marker. Why is this?
Not here, I'm using the component out into my Dell 2405 set at 1:1 scale and it is 1920X1080 with no black on left or right side.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 10:10 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 122
Khoi, are you using the back component port or the side bnc port?
Jack Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 10:13 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Jenkins View Post
Khoi, are you using the back component port or the side bnc port?
I'm using component, BNC does not output HD.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network