Record the display? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 19th, 2007, 11:15 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 38
Record the display?

I just got my A1 and I'm getting ready to go out and do some test shoots to get familiar with my camera. Is there a way to record the display (the various settings that are displayed in the LCD or Viewfinder) info into the actually video image - for reference? I looked in the manual and couldn't find anything.

And since this is my first post let me say "hi" to everyone.
Dan Lambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 11:55 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
When you playback, hit datacode on the remote and it will display f stop, shutter speed and gain at the time you shot the video.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 12:12 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Lambert View Post
Is there a way to record the display (the various settings that are displayed in the LCD or Viewfinder) info into the actually video image - for reference?
Yes -- it's a custom function called Character Record. In the Custom Function menu, toggle setting #20 to position 01 in order to turn it on. This is described in the manual on pages 84 through 89.

Welcome aboard,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 12:43 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Yes -- it's a custom function called Character Record. In the Custom Function menu, toggle setting #20 to position 01 in order to turn it on. This is described in the manual on pages 84 through 89.

Welcome aboard,
Excellent, thanks!
Dan Lambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 01:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ransomville NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
When you playback, hit datacode on the remote and it will display f stop, shutter speed and gain at the time you shot the video.
Damn...thats awesome. I didn't even know about that!

*goes to try it*

- Kyle
__________________
Online Portfolio | Feature Film on XHA1
Kyle Prohaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 01:27 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Yes -- it's a custom function called Character Record. In the Custom Function menu, toggle setting #20 to position 01 in order to turn it on. This is described in the manual on pages 84 through 89.

Welcome aboard,
Does it reset automatically when you cycle the power, or do you have to go back and change it manually? Could be a cool effect for a verite style shot, but knowing me, I'd forget to turn it off and have a whole day's shooting with the data burned in.
Jason Lowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 01:43 PM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
When you playback, hit datacode on the remote and it will display f stop, shutter speed and gain at the time you shot the video.
Yeah, but the original poster asked about burned-in data, and this trick won't do it.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 01:46 PM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Lowe View Post
Does it reset automatically when you cycle the power, or do you have to go back and change it manually?
Once a Custom Function profile is applied, it stays on, even when the power is cycled. You have three CF profiles to choose from, so you could relegate this setting to CF.3 for instance, and be careful to turn it off each time when you're finished, or apply some other CF profile. Also, if you're using the Custom Display option, make sure that you leave the CF indicator on. Otherwise you won't know if it's on or not, and once Char. Rec. is selected, there's no way to change that video to and get rid of the burn-in.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 02:24 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Yeah, but the original poster asked about burned-in data, and this trick won't do it.

I just read it wrong, I was assuming that he is new with the camera and wanted to know what the shot would look like if he shot it at a certain f-stop of gain or whatever, didn't know that he really wanted to burn it in.
This is a great way to check your settings after the real shoot, you don't have any real burn in.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 02:59 PM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
After re-reading his original post, now I'm not sure that he wanted burned-in data either. Between us though we seemed to have covered it both ways, so it's all good.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 03:16 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
After re-reading his original post, now I'm not sure that he wanted burned-in data either. Between us though we seemed to have covered it both ways, so it's all good.
I'm not sure what I wanted either :) But I understand both options now, so thanks again.
Dan Lambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 04:48 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 55
posted in error - removed
Colin Browell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network