Price difference at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2007, 07:14 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Price difference

I have noticed the price of the G1 is supposedly a few thousand dollars more than the A1? Why?

Thanks.
Jasper Blunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 08:39 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 93
These are some of the things the G1 got and the A1 doesn't.

1.485 Gbps uncompressed HD-SDI output

GenLock input and Time Code input /output
Anthony Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 08:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 163
Other than that your looking at the A1.
Mike Gorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 08:52 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Genlock capability makes the G1 more suitable for multi camera shoots.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2007, 09:44 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The professional jacks on the XH G1 -- SDI, Time Code and Genlock -- represent about an added value of $3000 over the XH A1. But this was all explained long ago at http://www.dvinfo.net/canonxh/watchdog.php.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2007, 01:33 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Does 1.485 Gbps uncompressed HD-SDI output improve the image quality?

And is it still possible to do multi-cam work without the G1's timecode features?

Thanks.
Jasper Blunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2007, 05:41 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Assuming you have a device handy to record the uncompressed output to, it is better. Yes, you can do multicam work without genlocked cameras. I use a low tech clapboard for that purpose. You could use the flash from a still camera.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network