XHA1 & Firestore FS-C Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 23rd, 2007, 10:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 26
XHA1 & Firestore FS-C Question

Hello,

Please forgive my ignorance, but I am a complete Noob in regard to HDV editing and process. I have just purchased my XHA1, should be seeing it Weds. I am very interested in getting the Firestor FS-C as a companion, but must admit that I do not completely understand all that it does aside from offer tapeless recording. Do the file just simply need to be dragged over once you attach to your computer, or do the still have to go through some sort of a conversion before you can edit them?

At this point I'll be building a new editing system and I feel pretty good that I have speced the computer itself from a hardware, drives and processor perspective properly. I am just not sure if I will be needing some type of capture board, or in/out board if I am using the Firestor or if the files that the Firestore is saving keep me from needing specialized video hardware products.

I will definitely be using the Adobe Professional Production Suite CS3 (Love After Effects), and am also willing to look at in addition having Edius or Vegas on the PC. But I have been reading a lot of threads that sound as if Aspect HD with PPCS3 would maybe be a pretty good software solution without the need for additional software? I don't know I'd love to be able to edit the HDV in realtime.

I am a bit confused as to what solutions might work best with the XHA1 and the Firestor and could really use some advice prior to building out this system.

Thank you so much for your insight,
Jeff
Jeff Mahar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 04:28 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Jeff-
Unfortunately- from your perpective - I'm a mac person. I can tell you that the A1 and the FS-C work together fine with Final Cut. You literally drag and drop the files from the FS-C. I believe it works the same with PC based editing programs (I think I've read about others using Premiere Pro), but I'm not sure specifically which ones.
__________________
www.gencofilms.com
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 05:27 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kamerman View Post
I'm a mac person. I can tell you that the A1 and the FS-C work together fine with Final Cut. You literally drag and drop the files from the FS-C.
Actually that is not totally foreign to me Larry, that is helpful. I have a new Macbook pro with FC2 Studio coming in a few weeks (when they start shipping) The 2.4 Ghz version with I believe 3 GB of RAM. I will use that at times as well, but I am primarily on PC since I work on Web Development as my daily function. But I did get the Macbook Pro for any work that I will be doing on the road. Any advice on that in terms of the harddrive space. I got the 160GB. Primarily the Apple and Adobe products will be the only things taking up space on it.

I am glad to hear they work so well together with the Firestor for that case. Thank you.

Is the general consensus that you want a decently powerful video card, but for HDV you do not need to have a special converter capture card in order to achieve real-time editing that does not degrade the footage in any way?

Last edited by Jeff Mahar; June 23rd, 2007 at 08:49 PM.
Jeff Mahar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 06:01 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Mahar View Post
Is the general consensus that you want a decently powerful video card, but for HDV you do not need to have a special converter capture card in order to achieve real-time editing that does not degrade the footage in any way?
I believe so.
__________________
www.gencofilms.com
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 09:07 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Truckee, CA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Mahar View Post
Actually that is not totally foreign to me Larry, that is helpful. I have a new Macbook pro with FC2 Studio coming in a few weeks (when they start shipping) The 2.4 Ghz version with I believe 3 GB of RAM. I will use that at times as well, but I am primarily on PC since I work on Web Development as my daily function. But I did get the Macbook Pro for any work that I will be doing on the road. Any advice on that in terms of the harddrive space. I got the 160GB. Primarily the Apple and Adobe products will be the only things taking up space on it.

I am glad to hear they work so well together with the Firestor for that case. Thank you.

Is the general consensus that you want a decently powerful video card, but for HDV you do not need to have a special converter capture card in order to achieve real-time editing that does not degrade the footage in any way?

Jeff,
For smooth RT editing, Final Cut Pro will want to see a separate big, fast scratch hard drive, rather than your boot drive on the MacBook Pro. Many problems can arise from using your boot drive as the scratch disk.
Geoff Brandenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 09:18 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Brandenburg View Post
Jeff,
For smooth RT editing, Final Cut Pro will want to see a separate big, fast scratch hard drive, rather than your boot drive on the MacBook Pro. Many problems can arise from using your boot drive as the scratch disk.
Thanks Geoff any particular portable you'd recommend. This will be my first Mac in 7 years, so I have some catching up to do on the Mac side of my setup.
Jeff Mahar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2007, 12:02 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
24f

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kamerman View Post
Jeff-
Unfortunately- from your perpective - I'm a mac person. I can tell you that the A1 and the FS-C work together fine with Final Cut. You literally drag and drop the files from the FS-C.
I was looking at B&H and the site wasn't specific about whether the FSC will record in 24f to disk (site says "HD MPEG-2 Transport Stream (1080i 50 or 60).") Have you tried this before? I will be shooting 60i from now on and using Magic Bullet for film effects, but I still have several tapes that were shot in 24f, would I be able to play back these tapes into the Firestore? Final Cut still has hiccups trying to recognize my A1 and I need a more reliable way to get the clips going. thanks in advance. Brian
Brian Spatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 10:35 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich Germany , Singapore ,NSW Australia
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Mahar View Post
Actually that is not totally foreign to me Larry, that is helpful. I have a new Macbook pro with FC2 Studio coming in a few weeks (when they start shipping) The 2.4 Ghz version with I believe 3 GB of RAM. I will use that at times as well, but I am primarily on PC since I work on Web Development as my daily function. But I did get the Macbook Pro for any work that I will be doing on the road. Any advice on that in terms of the harddrive space. I got the 160GB. Primarily the Apple and Adobe products will be the only things taking up space on it.

I'll get the 7200rpm harddrives not the 5400rpm harddrives for your 2.4 Macbookpro. Also get an external 800 firewire drive for your footage. It is always better to have FCP and your footage seperate.
David Chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Spatz View Post
. . .but I still have several tapes that were shot in 24f, would I be able to play back these tapes into the Firestore?Brian
Not sure if the Firestore will record from a tape as it's played by the A1.
__________________
www.gencofilms.com
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 09:59 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 112
can the fs-c hdd be expanded by purchasing a new drive at the store?
Kalulu Ngilo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network