Black-record tapes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2007, 10:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 199
Black-record tapes

Hi guys,
just wondering if you black-record your tapes before shooting.
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 10:49 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Never - about all it would add is head wear, at least for my shooting..
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 11:28 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
you do not need to black tapes that are positioned for NLE.
only much older analog tape might have required that.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 12:42 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 199
Well, DV timecode breaks caused me tape log troubles. So I started blackening all tapes. But with HDV I am somehow more concerned about tape and head handling. :)

Last edited by Urban Skargren; July 2nd, 2007 at 01:15 PM.
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 07:07 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
You shouldn't have timecode breaks if you're careful in shooting. All you have to do is shoot a few seconds of head and tail on every shot, which is standard procedure anyway. If you watch a take or take the tape out, make sure when you recue it's in the rundown area on the last take. Striping tapes is something we did before nonlinear editing because you can't do insert editing without it. But to do it for shooting, as mentioned above, puts unnecessary wear on the heads as well as the tape.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 07:21 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Prague, MN
Posts: 112
If I'm going to replay footage or take the tape out I just record a couple seconds of BARS and then I just make sure i'm recording over the BARS when I do my next take.

The reason I do BARS instead of extra footage is because I have taped over a perfect take when I taped over my extra footage. :)
__________________
Kevin | www.kraentertainment.com
A picture is worth 1,000 words | A 2 hour film at 24fps is worth 172,800,000 words
Kevin Amundson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network