Using the Letus35 FE with A1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2007, 12:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 157
Using the Letus35 FE with A1

Recently bought the Letus35 FE and have liked the results I'm getting from it so far. But I don't have a lot of experience with 35mm adapters, so I have a few questions for fellow A1/Letus owners...

1. Do you focus on the "ground glass" with the SLR lens off, then put the lens on and focus only with the SLR lens (not the A1)?

2. Or do you put everything on including the lens, then focus on the subject with the A1 and fine tune it with the SLR lens?

3. Do you have problems seeing the ground glass "static grain" in the shots, especially with panning or tilting? I seem to see it some. And how often do you change the batteries to make sure it vibrates enough?

4. Does your Letus35 connect to your camera snuggly? Mine seems to be slightly "loose", as I don't want to over tighten it, and I want it to line up correctly with my A1 lens.

I've searched the forum and not really found the answers to these questions. I appreciate all feedback.

Thanks!
Blake
__________________
Mainly dabble in features and WebTV:
www.pinktheseries.com | www.facebook.com/continuumtv | www.killingdown.com
Blake Calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2007, 12:31 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 79
Interesting

I, too, would like to know the answer to these questions, as I plan on purchasing the Letus35 somewhere down the line.

Blake, which lenses do you have that you plan on attaching to the Letus?

And, once you get it all working, do you plan on posting some sample footage?

Thanks!
John Lofton IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2007, 12:38 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 157
I've actually already shot some good test stuff, and posted it here:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=97222

But, I'm still learning and doing more "real world" test. :)

I have a Nikkor 24mm, a Nikon 28mm, 50mm and 85mm, and a Vivitar 28mm. All seem to work pretty well, however the Nikon 28mm vignettes more than the others.
__________________
Mainly dabble in features and WebTV:
www.pinktheseries.com | www.facebook.com/continuumtv | www.killingdown.com
Blake Calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2007, 01:15 PM   #4
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
1. Do you focus on the "ground glass" with the SLR lens off, then put the lens on and focus only with the SLR lens (not the A1)?
Yes

2. Or do you put everything on including the lens, then focus on the subject with the A1 and fine tune it with the SLR lens?
No

3. Do you have problems seeing the ground glass "static grain" in the shots, especially with panning or tilting? I seem to see it some. And how often do you change the batteries to make sure it vibrates enough?
There is a pattern that is still visible, even when the motor is on. This is a weakness of the Letus but Quyen, the maker, is working to address this problem. He will be upping the quality of the ground glass soon.

4. Does your Letus35 connect to your camera snuggly? Mine seems to be slightly "loose", as I don't want to over tighten it, and I want it to line up correctly with my A1 lens.
It is a teeny bit loose but not enough to disrupt my shots. Consider drilling a hole in the plastic part and use a thumbscrew to hold it completely in place.

Okay, that should be everything.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2007, 11:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 294
thanks for these answers - i have one more - possibly newbie dumb

do you have the zoom turned off on the A1 before you attach the lens adaptor, or can you have it work at various zoom levels? or would that be something you wouldn't do anyway for logistic reasons?

trish
Trish Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 12:24 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 157
Thanks for your answers Steven. I appreciate the info.

Your answer to #3... if/when Quyen makes this upgrade to the ground glass-- do you know if he'll upgrade models out there now? Or only for new orders? Also, how often do you change out your batteries?

Trish-- if you do as Steven has suggested and focus on the ground glass, the A1 zoom will be fixed in place within this area and won't be moved. That's how I do it now, unless I'm zooming it to check focus (and I don't think I'll do that anymore once I focus on the ground glass now). So, I think you should work with it as you would with prime lenses and move the camera, not the zoom.

Thanks again,
Blake
__________________
Mainly dabble in features and WebTV:
www.pinktheseries.com | www.facebook.com/continuumtv | www.killingdown.com
Blake Calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 08:24 AM   #7
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Blake,

I can't speak for Quyen but I think the way it works is that you would pay a small charge to "upgrade" your adapter when the new glass is available. I'll let you know more when I know more myself. It's probably a month or two out right now.

Another trick that I implement is to set the preset focus and zoom on the A1 to what it should be for the adapter. That way, I can slip the Letus on and just enable these settings and I am good to go right away. It's also handy if something gets out of whack during a shoot, etc.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 10:45 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 157
I assume you will be right about an "upgrade" from Quyen. I'll definitely follow up with him in the near future.

And that is a great idea about the preset focus and zoom! Now I'll actually have a reason to use that feature. ;)

Last thing, do you change your AA batteries often - every new shoot? Or once a month? I guess it depends on how much use it gets...

Thanks!
Blake
__________________
Mainly dabble in features and WebTV:
www.pinktheseries.com | www.facebook.com/continuumtv | www.killingdown.com
Blake Calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 11:10 AM   #9
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Basically, I change them after about 4 hours of continuous shooting. There's nothing scientific about that number, just peace of mind for me. I've never tested the batteries to see how long they actually last.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/

Last edited by Steven Dempsey; July 11th, 2007 at 03:35 PM.
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 03:01 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 157
Thanks Steven, I appreciate it!
__________________
Mainly dabble in features and WebTV:
www.pinktheseries.com | www.facebook.com/continuumtv | www.killingdown.com
Blake Calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 06:53 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 8
Exactly the kind of information I was looking for. Great idea Blake.
Stefan Antonescu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network