Time lapse (plus shutter speeds) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2004, 11:53 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Time lapse on the xl2?

I looked but couldn't find any information, I thought I remembered reading about it but perhaps not is there some sort of intervalometer on the xl2 (timelapse)? IF so what are the settings? thanks
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2004, 12:11 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It does have an intervalometer; identical to the XL1S.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2004, 02:27 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Thanks chris, I don't know how I missed that! (even used the search function)
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2004, 03:25 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Details as follows: chhose from intervals of 30 sec., 60 sec., 5 min., 10 min. and recording times of 15 frames, 30 frames, 45 frames, 60 frames.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2004, 11:04 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Awesome. thanks Chris!
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2004, 12:34 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 4
I have been told that the intervalometer on the DVX100A work only in 60i and not in the 24p mode. Is that the same for the intervalometer on the Xl1s/Xl2?
Aaron Mcilvain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2004, 12:38 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 209
the intervalometer on the DVX works in 60i and 30P. It does not work in 24p, and i don't really see how it could as the interval recording time is set in multiples of 30. It is not hard, however to mix 30p and 24p footage on the same timeline, with full progressive frames, you just get a 20% slower result.
Stefan Scherperel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 06:08 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 19
So does this mean you can't record more than about 2 seconds of time lapse when played back (60 frames) with the XL2? also how long does the shutter stay open for each frame? e.g can you get really long light trail effects from filming traffic with it?

(sorry if these question are nieve.)
Joe Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 06:43 PM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 4
no worries,

while i've yet to use the time lapse on the cannon cameras,
I know that the operator has the option to shoot x amount of frames for your desired duration of time.

60i and 30p represent the format used and not the number of frames shot.

As far as the recreating the streaks on video, i can not comment.
Perhaps theres some sort of plug-in that resembles what is created when the shutter is left open to expose the film in a photographic camera, but not a video camera. I could be wrong cause never tried with the XL1s.

-a.
__________________
airmac
Aaron Mcilvain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 09:32 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
IF I remember right you can get the shutter speed on the xl1 down to something like 1/8 which would give you the streaks I think you're looking for.
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 09:40 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
I thought I read that in Progressive mode the XL2 will not go to a shutter speed lower than the framerate. IS this right?

example:24p would be limited to 1/24 sec minimum....no lower than that. 30P would be 1/30th of sec min.

I would like it to not be this way but think it is. Anyone?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2004, 07:34 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 109
Ive used all of the shutter speeds with my XL1s on 30p, but I can't say anything about 24p.
__________________
The only thing worse than quitting is being afraid to start. Get off your bum and go shoot something!
Christopher Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2004, 08:27 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 19
thanks guys.

It sounds like with the shutter not going slower than 1/8sec, getting headlamp trails going right accross the frame or stars creating circles of light as the earth rotates and similar effects is out of the question.

Perhaps there is a way to program the dsp to accumulate multiple CCD exposures over however long and then save that to one frame on the miniDV tape. That would be really cool. Hopefully the API will allow that kind of tinkering. You'd probably have to do some MPEG style calculation of inbetween exposures so the time when the shutter is closed doesn't result in obvious breaks in light trails etc. in the final accumulated CCD image. Does the XL2 have a full, API accessible frame buffer?
Joe Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2004, 03:00 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 163
Or you could use a digital SLR for the duration of the timelaps sequence. This would allow for any length of exposure. Some very interesting imagery can be obtained this way. Better than HI def.
Bill Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2004, 06:47 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fairview,nj
Posts: 137
<<<-- Originally posted by Marty Hudzik : I thought I read that in Progressive mode the XL2 will not go to a shutter speed lower than the framerate. IS this right?

example:24p would be limited to 1/24 sec minimum....no lower than that. 30P would be 1/30th of sec min.

I would like it to not be this way but think it is. Anyone? -->>>

When I used the Xl2 at Dv Expo I remeber quickley going through shutter speeds and I thought I remember it going to 1/12 at 24p
Mark Grgurev is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network