Black Levelīs for Broadcast TV use - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2004, 01:37 PM   #16
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
<<<-- Originally posted by Graeme Nattress : Greg, Setup is never added to a firewire signal as that is digital and digital never has setup.
Graeme -->>>

Correction: setup SHOULD never be added to a firewire signal. But unfortunately, on prosumer cameras like the PD150 and DVX, it IS.

The proper way for a setup menu item to work would be to only affect the analog output. But if you go into a PD150 and choose setup at 7.5%, it will also change the digital data that goes out the firewire port. Same thing with a DVX. That's a disaster waiting to happen, and should be avoided at all costs.

Pro broadcast cameras do it properly: the 7.5 only affects the analog outputs, never the digital recording/output. But on all the prosumer cameras I'm aware of, it affects both the analog and the digital, and that's a problem.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 01:46 PM   #17
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
Well, technically speaking you can't add setup to a digital signal because setup is a purely analogue phenonema. As I described earlier you can alter to video recorded so that it looks like setup has been applied, but this produces an "incompatible" DV tape. Also, the setup in this case is applied on recording rather than output, which is what the original poster was implying.

The best advice remains. Don't try and add setup in anything digital. And if you need to dub to an analogue tape, then either get a pro deck or a pro dub house to do it for you. Although I've had pro dub houses muck it up, so you've got to watch them carefully!!

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 04:30 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 570
So, anybody knows if the XL2 adds the setup to its analogue outputs or not? If it doesn't, my understanding is that blacks will always look crushed when monitoring live (even though the recorded signal will be fine).
David Lach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 06:19 PM   #19
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
For monitoring live you just have to calibrate your monitor to the camera, and all is fine, and you should do this wether setup is added on the analogue outs or not. Essentially setup is a brightness control, so altering the brightness on a monitor is exactly the same electrically as putting in a proc amp and adjusting black level.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network