XL2 End Search? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 24th, 2004, 05:45 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 15
XL2 End Search?

Hello, I had a chance to try a XL2 recently and found that the End Search function worked differently than what I'm used to on an AG-DVX100A.

I may have been doing something wrong, but when I press End Search shouldn't the tape be taken to the last recorded seconds just before any blank space?

I liked being able to throw a tape in the Panasonic, pressing End Search, and having my tape cued to the next available blank space, ready for recording.

My first impressions with the XL2 tell me I have to fast forward now to find those blank spaces. Either that or stop rewinding my tapes for storage. Isn't it a good idea to always rewind tape after every shoot?

Thanks for any and all help! Unfortunately, I don't have access to an XL2 right now so I can't test again and was hoping someone could do so for me.
Charles Saeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 05:57 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I just wanted to welcome you aboard DVInfo.net Charles! I can't
answer your question, but I'm sure someone else can.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 07:28 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Charles,

There's a note about End Search on page 37 of the XL2 manual. It works the way you want it to, with one major exception: "End search cannot be used once you unload the cassette."
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 01:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McLean, VA United States
Posts: 749
I've noticed this as well. You must manually find the end with the back-looping arrow button if you have removed the tape. Having found the end that way once you can resume shooting and the End Search button will then be working again until you remove the cassette again.
A. J. deLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 02:29 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 443
Guess many of us would have liked to have a true end search in Xl2. To overcome the missing feature and to make the end search as easy as possible, before stopping recording and turning off the camera, I always shoot about a 5 second tail to the tape. (In Xl1 I use to store a still photo.) Then if I unload the tape and load it back later on, there is some unimportant material in the end of the recording making it easier to find a new starting point with the arrows A.J. was talking about.
Lauri Kettunen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 06:49 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 15
Thanks, Rob, I've been visiting this excellent board for quite some time and decided I should just register and see if I can't learn more by asking questions directly. I'm already learning a lot!

I saw that in the manual, Chris, but wasn't too sure. I think they mention something along the same lines for the AG-DVX100 yet for that camera the End Search worked despite tape changes. Thanks for the clarification.

I'll try the tips Lauri and A. J. suggested the next time I have access to an XL2.

Another option I was thinking of employing was inputing Index signals here and there - what do you think? I have to read more on this in the manual but it may be a quick way to get to the next recording point?
Charles Saeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 06:57 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It's always a good practice to start recording a bit earlier (some
people leave the camera on to catch rehearsels as well when the
actors think the camera is off [with disabled tally lights]) and then
shout action and the same goes when stopping. Always good to
have a bit of room both in editing and for things like that, although
I try not to rewind my tape before it is full (or I'm done shooting)
to make sure I do not accidentally record over some of my
previous recorded footage.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 07:03 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 15
That's true, I should remember to do that and make it a habit.

And I was wondering about rewinding a tape after a recording session - is it alright to store the tape like that until its reached the end before rewinding it? Because I remember seeing somewhere in the Panasonic AG-DVX100 manual that it was a good idea to rewind tapes before storing, but perhaps that was for long term storage. I'll have to check. Any thoughts on this?
Charles Saeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 07:53 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I can't comment on that, but it is a good practice to a least wind
tapes a bit that have been on the shelf for a while/long time to
make sure the tape is properly tentioned, same goes for new
tapes ofcourse (who knows how long they have been on the
shelf in shops and thrown around and whatnot)!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 04:47 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
I didn't do anything special, but when I put a tape back into the XL2, it automatically finds the end for me. It's worked atleast 100 times out of 100.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 06:00 PM   #11
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Wow! That's great news, Darren.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 06:04 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 15
Darren, I suspected I could have been doing something wrong. What do you do to get yours to work? I'll have a chance to play with an XL2 later today or tomorow and I'll try again. Do you have to be in VCR mode? Something else?

Thanks for the help!
Charles Saeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 06:09 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
<<<-- Originally posted by Charles Saeger : Darren, I suspected I could have been doing something wrong. What do you do to get yours to work? I'll have a chance to play with an XL2 later today or tomorow and I'll try again. Do you have to be in VCR mode? Something else?

Thanks for the help! -->>>

I hate to telll you it did this out of the box. I have not set anything. I'm tied up on a deadline(like always) or I'd work it out.

Sorry

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2004, 05:46 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 443
<<<-- Originally posted by Darren Kelly : I didn't do anything special, but when I put a tape back into the XL2, it automatically finds the end for me. It's worked atleast 100 times out of 100.
DBK -->>>

Sounds like too good to be true. Darren, you really mean if you prerecord the color bars to a tape (in order to make sure the tape has a continuous time code), then rewinded the tape back to the beginning, and the you unload and load the tape back, your Xl2 will wind the tape to the end?

Or could it be, you mean, when you unload a tape, and then later on you load it back (without doing anything to the tape meanwhile) you hear the Xl2 is winding and rewinding the tape fow a while? But, if that's what you mean, then your Xl2 is not searching the end.

You can easily check this, but writing down on a paper the last time code of your recording. Then unload the tape and load it back, and you'll find the Xl2 will not start the next recording from the end of the tape.
Lauri Kettunen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 01:36 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 429
Mine doesn't work that way either. As far as I can tell, the end search function works better on the AG-DVX100.
Christopher Go is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network