XL2 Mic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2005, 07:29 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
XL2 Mic

hello eveyone,

i was wondering, cuz im outta money right now to get a boom. so i just want to hang my XL2 mic from a broom stick( yes, sad i know :( lol ) but the wire is well to short.

so i was wondering if there are extention wire i could buy and maybe a price range. or can i just walk in to my local video shop and ask?

thanks for the help

cheers

Mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 03:53 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Anyone?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 05:20 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
lol

i have an answer of sorts

i emailed HENRY'S and asked them they said they dont carry that type of wire but i should try story that deal in audio stuff and i dont know of any where i live except for RADIO SHACK and well that turned up nothing.

I guess your looking for the same thing ROB?

well if i find anything ill post it here

also emailed canon about it havent heard anything from them either lol

cheers

Mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 05:23 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
No, I was just bumping the thread so that other people notice
it and hopefully respond to your question.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 06:24 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
ah cool thanks alot Rob

cheers
mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 07:34 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 149
Probably not the answer you are looking for but if you can't find the cable you are needing I can recomend a good cheap mic. Check out the Azden SGM 2x. It only runs about $200 and for the money is actually a solid mic. I am usually cautious about buying cheap equipment but I was in a similar situation to you and had to get something, and lucky for me it turned out to be about the best $200 I ever spent.
Kevin Kocak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 07:49 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
oh cool cuz im looking in to buy a SGM aswell but i dont need it till the summer. whats farthest the distance on the Azen SGM to get nice sound ? and whats the product number if you dont mind?

thank kevin
Cheers

Mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 07:53 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
Kevin is this the one you have

http://www.video-direct.com/accessor...den/sgm2x.html

also does it come with a XLR wire or is that seperate?
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 08:27 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
wow at my local Henry's this mic is $650

i think ill be ordering from the states :p

also does it work on phantom power?

thx

Mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 12:23 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 149
That's the one. It works from a fairly reasonable distance. Its hard to say... I wouldn't say you need to be any closer than you would have to be with any other boom mic I've used. I know that is vague but trust me it is a good mic. Also, I used it to record interviews with kids outside at a park and was very happy with how directional the mic was. You can also take off the longer capsule and put the short one on and use it as a studio mic as well. I just finished recording a 10 DVD set which consisted of 90% voice-overs. So like I said before. It is well worth $200. Even if it goes to crap tommorrow I got my $200 out of it. Check out B&H, I think that's where I got from...Either there or MacMAll
Kevin Kocak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
thanks kevin

i think im gunna go place my ordre for in now

but does it use phantom or does it always need the 1.5 batt.
and do i have to buy a xlr wire or does it come with one?

thanks
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 01:34 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 149
I think I had to buy an XLR for it and it does not run on phantom power. But all you need is a couple of AAA batteries and you're good to go. It doesn't eat up the batteries very fast either. I used it all summer and changed the batteries like twice. Just be warned, the shock mount it comes with is crap. It doesn't really work for mounting on a boom pole. I guess it is designed to mount on a camera.
Kevin Kocak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 01:55 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
thats what ductape is for my friend LOL

thank for all your help Kevin

Cheers Mike
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 03:16 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 65
hey kevin i was just wondering what type of xlr wire did you buy? was it gold or just normal.

so for what may sound like silly questions but Audio is not my thing....yet:)
__________________

XPS P4 3.4, 1 gig ram, 100gig HDD,
Ati Radeon 9800 256MB ram
Premiere Pro & After Effects
__________________

XL2 with Azden 2X SGM
Michael Lopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 04:22 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 149
its not really mine either. I don't think there was anything special about it. it looked like every other XLR i have ever seen so I guess its a "normal". Sorry if that doesn't help much but its about all I know.
Kevin Kocak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network