capturing from XL2 to Final Cut HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2005, 12:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 198
capturing from XL2 to Final Cut HD

Ok this is just peculiar, i am capturing from the xl2, my capture presets can be viewed here:

http://www.motivitypictures.com/capture-presets.jpg

Now when I capture 83 minutes of video with audio channels 1 and 2, I donít get one nice single quicktime file. I get a bunch, here is a screen shot:

http://www.motivitypictures.com/capture-bin.jpg

Now I can play the file, Side session 2-v, and itís fine (except for the extra frame every 4 seconds because itís 24p, not yet reversed telecined) but I canít play the others, I donít know what they are anyway. The funny thing is before I captured, I named the file ďside sessionĒ and that is it. FCP is putting the ď2-vĒ on the end. I donít know why.

So even though I try and reverse telecine one of these files using cinema tools to get 24p, it doesnít work. It just gives me an error message:

http://www.motivitypictures.com/reverse-log.jpg

ButÖÖ (yes there is more) I tried to just capture say 10 seconds of footage and it worked fine. I got 1 quicktime file, I was able to reverse telecine the footage and bring it in to final cut pro with sequence presets using 23.98 FPS.

Blows my mind. Itís like, if I capture a small amount of footage the process is fine, but 83 mintues and it gives me a ton of files.

???? ever happen to you? I am an apple certified final cut pro user, and this blows my mind.

Help.
Cassidy Bisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 05:54 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
The only time I've had capture problems is when I've tried long continuous sessions like yours. How are you capturing 83 minutes - are you using the long DV tapes? I stay away from those personally due to tape stretching concerns; that might be related to your problem. Try breaking your capture into shorter segments, maybe 20 minutes or so, and see if that fixes the problem.

As far as all the different files... never saw that one before...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 07:19 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 198
stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff
The only time I've had capture problems is when I've tried long continuous sessions like yours. How are you capturing 83 minutes - are you using the long DV tapes? I stay away from those personally due to tape stretching concerns; that might be related to your problem. Try breaking your capture into shorter segments, maybe 20 minutes or so, and see if that fixes the problem.

As far as all the different files... never saw that one before...
Boyd, I am using panasonic ay-dvm83mq tape stock, 83 mintues. can you define tape stretching? I will definitely try breaking capture segments into smaller sections. thanks for the advice.

cass
Cassidy Bisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 07:38 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
The way they get longer tapes into the same cassettes is by using thinner stock. These can stretch more than the standard 60 minute tapes and cause recording/playback problems. I know that Sony does not recommend using the 80 minute tapes in their cameras; they don't say it will harm the camera, just that they may be unreliable. IIRC, Canon has said the same thing. I believe those tapes are positioned more for consumer use.

If you browse through our tape forum (http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=64, or do a search, I think you'll find some discussion on the topic.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 07:46 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff
The way they get longer tapes into the same cassettes is by using thinner stock. These can stretch more than the standard 60 minute tapes and cause recording/playback problems. I know that Sony does not recommend using the 80 minute tapes in their cameras; they don't say it will harm the camera, just that they may be unreliable. IIRC, Canon has said the same thing. I believe those tapes are positioned more for consumer use.

If you browse through our tape forum (http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=64, or do a search, I think you'll find some discussion on the topic.
thanks for the link, i am glad you said something about this. I had no idea that it was thinner tape stock. it makes sense.

cass
Cassidy Bisher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network