XL2 - Darker right border? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2005, 07:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
XL2 - Darker right border?

Hello! I'm new to the forum, so first of all hi to everyone :)

I own a Canon XL2 (PAL, I live in Slovenia), and I just noticed today that there's something wrong with it - It records a darker vertical band on the right side of the picture. I uploaded a sample here:

http://www.3dgestudio.com/error.jpg

If you can't see it, here's another version, where I exagerated contrast:

http://www.3dgestudio.com/error2.jpg

I tried to connect the camera to my TV, and there is no dark band. It could be that the TV crops the band, or maybe it's a codec problem? Any idea? The band is not visible in the EVF.

Any idea of what could be the cause, and even better, the solution?

Thanks,

Seb
Seb Pelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 07:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Seb,

Did you see this in your video editing suite while the video is playing? I ask because this may just be happening when you perform a screen capture. What NLE do you use?
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2005, 12:52 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Yeah, it's actually a screen grab taken directly from Premiere.

I tried Vegas too, and even Windows Movie Maker (sometimes it comes out as a little useful thing).

I'm guessing it's a codec problem. I remember I saw a similiar artifact on some DivX movies quite a while ago... It could also be my firewire port, who knows. I'll see what happens when I'll plug it in my new Matrox RT.X 100 Xtreme Pro, maybe there will be better drivers and codecs...

...At least I hope so! :)
Seb Pelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2005, 04:56 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The reason you cannot see it on a TV, it that is cuts off a border around the
image (top, bottom, left & right) called overscan. You are not seeing the full
picture. So if you are shooting for TV productions then it is not really a problem
since no-one will see it.

I don't know if this is "normal" for the XL2 or not. I don't think I've heard
anyone else talk about it yet...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Rob. Haven't noticed this so far.

By the way, some effects (like PIP) will show the picture edges, so it can be a problem even for TV productions.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2005, 07:58 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Seb, I just pulled some screen caps off some of my footage (60i, 30p and 24p) and I saw none of the banding you have in the screen cap you posted here.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2005, 05:34 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Richard: with PiP it may be wise to crop some of the edges off as well.

Seb: if the camera is new I would return it for another without the defect
(it seems to be a defect since others don't have it). Otherwise it may be
wise to send it to Canon for a repair? (be sure to include a tape / print out
of the problem!)

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2005, 06:56 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks guys.

The camera already has been repaired last week for a dead pixel after I had it for less than one month, so since I noticed the border problem only a few days ago, I thought they messed it up. I checked out older footage and the border was visible then already, I just didn't notice it.

I'll wait to try it with another firewire device, on another machine with other codecs. If the border will still be there, I'll send it back to the service center.

Thanks again,

Seb
Seb Pelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2005, 11:04 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Lohman
Richard: with PiP it may be wise to crop some of the edges off as well.
Well yes Rob, but if the edges are OK to begin with (and they usually are unless captured from analogue) then there is no need to crop except for framing considerations.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network