XL2 Image Quality- Low Resolution at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2005, 12:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
XL2 Image Quality- Low Resolution

Hi eveyrone,

I purchased a XL2 about two months ago, but now I realized that the picture is no as sharp as some other footage I saw on the web. I tried shooting under different light condition, outdoor, indoor and so on. I also tried different settings. When I capture it the quality is not that good it should be especially when I have it in full screen.I tried capturing with Final Cut, premiere, mediastudio and so.

Please tell me what is the problem. Could it be the camera or the 20x lens?

And its already past the time that I could return the camera.

pleae tell me what I should do...

thank you
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 01:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
Clealry you are not using the camera properly, as mine has yeilded nothing but superb video images.

What settings are you using? What customs presets ar eyou using? 24p? 30p?60i?

How soft do you have the image set? Are you sure you are in focus?

An image being sharp is not the same as an image being good.

What is your subject matter? The XL2 is not a Point&Shoot Cam. It takes getting used to and setting up.
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 01:21 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
Image quality

I tried 24p 30p and 60i

and about the setting I did every little thing I could think of

its only loosing quality when I try to see the footage in full screen mode.

it looses quality like some videos on the web.

i tried capturing with different settings and sizes , but i still can't get that good picture when I watch the footage in full screen mode
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 01:31 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 125
Are you watching it on your computer in FinalCut or some other NLE? If so, your computer monitor won't display the video the same as a tv or broadcast montior. You should check it out on a tv instead. It should be very sharp if the camera is fully functional and being operated correctly.
Joe Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 01:35 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
low quality

I did try it on tv too using S-video

its still not that good and i played back the same footage i captured with the computer.

Could the camera or the lens have any problem?

Last edited by Kalil Jalili; August 3rd, 2005 at 02:28 PM.
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 02:37 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
If you're comparing the image (raw video) you're seeing directly from the camera to the television to poor web video, it's not the camera or the lens. Without seeing what you're doing or knowing in detail what you're doing it's impossible to say. It sounds like operator error.

Or are you talking about video that you've compressed for the web?

Jay
Jay Gladwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 03:59 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
bad image

I am talking about the raw image. It doesn;t have a high resulotion, when I play it directly to tv or I capture uncompressed.


what I said about the web video was just an example of how it look when you watch in full screen mode.
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 03:59 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
It should look very good thru s-video... we need a lot more inforation. Was the camera on full auto? Were you outside? etc.



ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 05:48 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
Image problem

I tried both manual and auto mode.


when I play on tv (s-video) is not as bad as when I capture it.

but even on Tv its not that good.

and yes I was out side.

So, its not a technical problem of the camera or the lens?

thank you
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 05:50 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Duluth GA
Posts: 238
Kalil,

I felt the same way when I first started testing out my XL2, I was not pleased with the quality of what I was seeing until I started reading details about the XL2 settings Ash and some other wonderful people shared, and since then, the pictures I started getting from my XL2 was unbelievable.

I think you really need to do some serious testing with the camcorder.

I know a lot of people in here started you should use Automatic mode first but I went straight for the manual mode since I like messing up things and then fix them, that way you will have a better understand on how each operation works on the camera.

If someone can send me a link to a site where I can post videos for free, I can just do that so that you can see what I think it's ok.
Eniola Akintoye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 06:32 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
Image getting better

Hi again every one and thank you for your replies.

I just took some more shots outdoor in the automatic mode with 60i

the picture is ok when I play it back directly to tv S-video, but after I capture it is still has low resulotion on full screen.



thank you
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 07:40 PM   #12
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
What NLE are you using? Does it have different viewing modes, like draft, good, best?

Jay
Jay Gladwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 08:07 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37
Hi jay- image control

Hi


When I capture, I do it with final cut .mov and NTSC 48khz

and I capture with premiere too .avi NTSC 48khz


Thgank you
Kalil Jalili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 11:24 PM   #14
suspended -- contact admin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
S video connections are no good you need a television with component video connections which is a 5 cable connection with a red blue and green cable for video as well as a red and white cable for audio. Also a television that is capable of displaying progressive scan video is essential for a good picture. These televisions are called enhanced definition television or EDTV.
Tommy James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 11:39 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalil Jalili
Hi


When I capture, I do it with final cut .mov and NTSC 48khz

and I capture with premiere too .avi NTSC 48khz


Thgank you
Are you looking at Final Cut Pro full-screen preview?
Tim Durham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network