How to stop old clips from downloading? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2011, 02:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nottingham United Kingdom
Posts: 33
How to stop old clips from downloading?

Hi all, Is there a way that I can stop downloading clips to my computer at a predetermend position on the tape? The reason I ask is, when I use a tape that has been used before I only want to download the new clips and then I would like the downloading to stop. Any ideas!!.............................Pete.
Peter Sheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2011, 02:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
OK, you could run your camera from the mains and have the three pin plug pushed into an on/off mains timer - I used one for my Christmas lights. That would stop the tape, but your capture program might carry on recording blue screen. My Storm Video capture doesn't though - when the signal ceases the capture ceases too.

What capture program are you using Peter?

tom.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2011, 04:56 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
1 Don't reuse tapes! (Sorry about that - but someone's bound to say it!)

2 At the end of your shooting, run off 30 seconds or a minute with the colour bars or with the lens cap on and audio turned down/off. Then at least you can find the end of your new footage more quickly, and if you are vaguely paying attention to the importing you'll notice it.
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2011, 10:11 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
If you are using a professional NLE you can set in and out markers (as many as you want) and then ingest in one go. Hope this helps.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 10:40 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nottingham United Kingdom
Posts: 33
How to stop old clips from downloading.

Thanks all, I forgot to ask so that I am not using the same section of tape all the time, is there anyway that I can stop the XL2 from rewinding to the beginning of the tape when I hook it up to the computer? The software that I am using is Cyberlink Power Director.
Peter Sheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 10:46 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
It doesn't matter that you use the same bit of tape all the time. Tape is designed expressly to be reused - if it wasn't we'd never get to replay our recordings out into the computer or tv screen.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 01:31 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Ah but isn't that exactly the point? In this case it does matter because after the bit he wants has been imported, old footage he doesn't want is being added.

I wasn't really pontificating about never reusing tapes so much as pointing out that it wouldn't happen on a new tape 'cos there isn't any old footage on it! Sorry for not being clear, and please join me in a toast to the longevity of footage recorded on tape and the reliability of the medium in general. I've just bought another tape based camera after all.

I keep all my footage archived on the original tapes, bore that I am, and I fully expect to be able to reuse tapes until the cows come home if I wanted to.
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 02:32 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nottingham United Kingdom
Posts: 33
How to stop old clips from downloading.

The reason I would like to be able to stop the tape at a certain place IE before it rewinds to the beginning
is because of the type of filming that I do (birds/wildlife) so its very rare that I use a lot of the tape.
So if I could stop the tape before before it rewinds I could eventually use all the tape.
Peter Sheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 05:07 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Sorry I don't know the software that you are using, Peter. Can you not stop the tape manually from the camera if Cyberlink Power Director won't do it? As a last resort you could play/fast forward the tape to where you want it even if it does get rewound. That's where 30 seconds of black or bars could help by making the end easier to find and avoiding timecode breaks without any danger of overwriting previously filmed footage.
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network