Mbps rates at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2013, 08:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Mbps rates

Hi All,

Can anyone explain the difference of a tape based system, such as our XL2's etc and the newer Mbps system.

Is there any tie in with lines per frame as with a tape based system?

I've noticed with the likes of a GoPro and video on consumer cameras if panning the video is not smooth, almost as if the pan speed doesn't sync with the recording speed and I'm assuming this has to do with the bit rate at which the the video is being recorded.

Is that correct?

Thanks,
Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 08:28 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: Mbps rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Melville View Post
I've noticed with the likes of a GoPro and video on consumer cameras if panning the video is not smooth, almost as if the pan speed doesn't sync with the recording speed and I'm assuming this has to do with the bit rate at which the the video is being recorded.
If the panning is not smooth, this usually means your computer is too old and slow to play AVCHD video.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 08:40 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Hi Eric,

Thanks for the reply.

I had wondered about that but the computer is just under 2 years old and when I edit my tapes through the tape editor on it, then run the resulting file, I have no issues. However if I transfer the GoPro footage or footage from various consumer cameras to the HD of the computer (from SDHC cards) I still have issues with artifacting whilst panning or, for instance, a flower blowing in the wind. The movement is very erratic, almost a seriers of frames laced together, unlike the tape based file which is as smooth as a babies bum!

BUT, maybe the computer is a little old, although it's a reasonably high spec'd Toshiba Satellite.

Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 09:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: Mbps rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Melville View Post
Hi Eric,

Thanks for the reply.

I had wondered about that but the computer is just under 2 years old and when I edit my tapes through the tape editor on it, then run the resulting file, I have no issues. However if I transfer the GoPro footage or footage from various consumer cameras to the HD of the computer (from SDHC cards) I still have issues with artifacting whilst panning or, for instance, a flower blowing in the wind. The movement is very erratic, almost a seriers of frames laced together, unlike the tape based file which is as smooth as a babies bum!

BUT, maybe the computer is a little old, although it's a reasonably high spec'd Toshiba Satellite.

Al
It sounds like you are using a notebook computer. Try vacuuming the dust out of the tiny ventilation holes on the sides and bottom of the notebook. When a CPU overheats the hardware automatically slows down to protect itself. This might cause erratic movement in a video.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 11:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Hi Eric,

Tried that, no difference. :(

Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2013, 01:29 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: Mbps rates

Hi, Alan............

Not sure what you are referring to when you say "tape based" - DV? HDV? Not that it really matters.

AVCHD has quite a reputation for being a difficult codec to work with, it being quite a bit more processor intensive than either of the other mentioned codecs.

That aside, panning causes the bit rate of all those codecs to rapidly head towards saturation, leading to the dreaded HDV "smear", not quite sure what the AVCHD equivalent is.

Given the limited upgradeability of notebooks, about the only avenue you might have could be to take the memory to the max, if it isn't there already, it certainly sounds like it's struggling at high bandwidths with that codec (AVCHD).


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2013, 03:12 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Thanks Chris,

I'll do some comparasions on a desk top. What you're saying makes sense.

Al

PS It's quite likely a high end gaming laptop would handle the graphics, out of interest I'll try it on a nephews laptop as well.
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2013, 07:39 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Re: Mbps rates

Most tape-based formats (e.g., DV, HDV) are much less demanding on the processor than AVCHD and will often playback more smoothly. Often you can improve playback and editing sped by recoding the AVCHD to another codec.

Generally video editing works best if the video is on a separate physical drive from the operating system and software. Similarly, if a computer is a bit short of RAM it can make playback look poor.

Slow frame rates can make pans and other camera moves look stuttery.

Fragmented and slow drives (less than 7200 RPM) can make playback uneven.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 05:47 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Don,

Sorry for the late reply. :)

Thanks for your answer and info, one is always learning!

The laptop I use has a bit of grunt but maybe because of the fact I have everything in the same packet, so's to speak, and not a seperate drive, may be an issue + the drive speed.

My computer specs are;

CPU Intel Core i7 processor 720QM (1.6GHz/2.8GHz, 1333MHz FSB, 6MB L2 Cache)
Operating System Genuine Windows 7 Home Ultimate 64bit)
Screen Size 18.4" Widescreen HD+ TruBrite Display (1680 x 945), supports 720p
Memory 4GB DDR3 (2GB + 2GB) (1066MHz) expanded to 8GB

Storage 1000GB (500GB + 500GB) (5400rpm) SATA ..........and herein lays the problem maybe......

Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (2270MB Total: 1GB discrete memory + 1246MB shared memory)
Optical Disc Drive Blu-Ray RW/DVD SuperMulti Double/Dual Layer Drive
Speakers Premium harman/kardon speakers
Sound Harman/Kardon Speakers

Cheers,
Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2013, 06:52 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Re: Mbps rates

I agree, the drive is likely the weak link for editing - single 5400 RPM coupled with being partitioned. You might try see if it behaves better if the video files are on a high speed SDHC or CF card on a high speed port (at least USB2) rather than on the local drive.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2013, 03:04 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Thanks Don,

I'll give it a go! I've not had a place, i.e. a house, to have a dedicated tower for editing but I now do, so I'll likely build up a dedicated desktop for editing. I'll do some research on it. I want to learn how to use Lightworks so I'll build around it.

Input welcome! :)

Cheers,
Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2013, 12:52 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: Mbps rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Melville View Post
CPU Intel Core i7 processor 720QM (1.6GHz/2.8GHz, 1333MHz FSB, 6MB L2 Cache)
Operating System Genuine Windows 7 Home Ultimate 64bit)
Screen Size 18.4" Widescreen HD+ TruBrite Display (1680 x 945), supports 720p
Memory 4GB DDR3 (2GB + 2GB) (1066MHz) expanded to 8GB
Storage 1000GB (500GB + 500GB) (5400rpm) SATA ..........and herein lays the problem maybe......
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (2270MB Total: 1GB discrete memory + 1246MB shared memory)
Optical Disc Drive Blu-Ray RW/DVD SuperMulti Double/Dual Layer Drive
Speakers Premium harman/kardon speakers
Sound Harman/Kardon Speakers
It seems like a powerful enough system. Have you tried updating or installing the manufacturer's graphics and sound drivers?
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2013, 06:40 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: No Fixed Address :) Western Australia
Posts: 269
Re: Mbps rates

Hi Eric,

No I haven't but I will as I see no harm in try-ing, although upgrades may not be available any longer as the model is outdated.

Maybe it'll give me an excuse for buying an El Whizzo desk top unit..... :)

Cheers for that.

Al
Alan Melville is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network