Preventing Timecode Breaks on the XL2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 9th, 2005, 11:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Preventing Timecode Breaks on the XL2

EDIT: THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN SOLVED - USER ERROR (Josh)

Just swtiched over from the DVX. While I'm happy with the change, I find with the XL2 every time I stop recording before begining a new shot, I create a timecode break. This didn't tend to happen with the DVX.

Must I use the 'record search' button between shots to cue up the second shot, or is there a better method? (I don't want to stripe my tapes)

Hey thanks in advance for any advice!

Last edited by Josh Dahlberg; November 10th, 2005 at 10:55 PM.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 09:00 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Shouldn't happen at all. If you hit pause, and start, or if you turn it off, and then turn it on, the camera will find the timecode correctly. If not, you've got a problem.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 03:24 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
That is not normal... every once it a while I have heard about it when switching pulldowns or frame rates but even then is should not happen.




ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 10:20 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Yuck.

Thanks for the info guys. Looks like I'll be taking my camera back to the dealer on Monday.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 10:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth WA Australia
Posts: 124
I would read through the opperators manual before I took it back to the dealer,it sounds like one of your settings could be the problem rather than a fault with the system.
Joe Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2005, 10:54 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Barker
I would read through the opperators manual before I took it back to the dealer,it sounds like one of your settings could be the problem rather than a fault with the system.
Joe, I just came back to edit my previous post but you beat me to it.

I have to eat humble pie here. Sorry for wasting your time guys - Joe's guess is quite right. I figured that as no one else was experiencing this issue I must be doing something wrong.... novice error, I had time code set to free-run with my very first tape in the XL2. Switched it to record-run, problem solved.

sorry Canon.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network