Shotgun mic replacement for stock? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2006, 11:56 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston/Austin
Posts: 394
Shotgun mic replacement for stock?

Is there a small shotgun mic that I can directly replace the stock mic on my XL2 for?
Adam Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2006, 11:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 125
You could stick most any shotgun in the mount and plug it into the XLRs in the back. I've stuck my Sennheiser MKH60 and my ME66 in the mount more than a few times and shot just like that. I did stick some foam padding in the mount to hold the mic tightly. Works fine. They do make shock mounts that clip onto your camera to dampen the handling noise. I would suggest one if you are doing critical audio recording.
Joe Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2006, 11:41 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 125
Oh, and remember, your stock mic is stereo, and shotguns are mono. So it wouldn't technically 'replace' your stock mic. Just a note.
Joe Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 04:55 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Audio Tehcnica offers several models at a somewhat lower price point than the Sennheiser, and below that are several Azdens and others. Probably best to avoid the under $150 models, and be sure it has an output impedance of around 600 ohms or lower, otherwise you may have significant output loss due to impedance missmatch.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 10:51 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston/Austin
Posts: 394
How is the ME66 powered?
Adam Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 11:13 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 26
me66

with the K6P module you can use both phantom and 1 AA. I have used both with no diffrence in audio quality or camera runtime (not a noticeable tax).
__________________
--
Frank Moss
nine 13 media
http://nine13media.net/
Frank Moss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network