Interesting Audio Setup at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 18th, 2006, 02:08 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 3
Interesting Audio Setup

Hello everyone, my first post here. Glad to finally be a member!

So I'm trying to set up four mics on the XL2. Not four channel recording, just four microphones mixed down to stereo. I want to have two XLR shotgun mics running phantom power, and another two running from a mixer through the composite line-in ports (Audio 1 or Audio 2).

My problem is that I can't get anything through channels 3 and 4, whether I'm recording in 12bit 4 channel or 16 bit 2 channel. I've tried setting channels 1 and 2 as "Rear" and 3 and 4 as "Audio 1", but I still only get the rear mics. When I set Channels 1 and 2 to "Audio 2" and 3 and 4 to "Rear", I only get Audio 1.

I have a feeling there's some minor switch that I'm forgetting to set. Thanks in advance!

-Wes
Wesley Cronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2006, 02:21 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesley Cronk
Hello everyone, my first post here. Glad to finally be a member!

So I'm trying to set up four mics on the XL2. Not four channel recording, just four microphones mixed down to stereo. I want to have two XLR shotgun mics running phantom power, and another two running from a mixer through the composite line-in ports (Audio 1 or Audio 2).

My problem is that I can't get anything through channels 3 and 4, whether I'm recording in 12bit 4 channel or 16 bit 2 channel. I've tried setting channels 1 and 2 as "Rear" and 3 and 4 as "Audio 1", but I still only get the rear mics. When I set Channels 1 and 2 to "Audio 2" and 3 and 4 to "Rear", I only get Audio 1.

I have a feeling there's some minor switch that I'm forgetting to set. Thanks in advance!

-Wes
Welcome aboard, Wes. Well, you certainly won't get 4 channels of audio in 48/16 mode. You have to be in 32/12 to have 4 audio channels. And here's the good news. You are likely getting all 4 channels in 32k but you haven't figured out how to monitor each pair or listen to the entire mix. The little silver button below the mode wheel labeled 'Audio Monitor' is what you are after. This will toggle 1/2, 3/4, or all 4 channels. Make sure you have gone into audio setup and selected 12bit ch1/2 3/4.

That should get you going.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2006, 10:00 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 3
Thanks! Darn those hidden buttons.

So there's no way to do a mixdown on camera so you can record 1 and 3 as the left channel and 2 and 4 as the right channel? Shame.
Wesley Cronk is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network