will this work? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2006, 10:23 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX (Cypress to be exact)
Posts: 169
will this work?

I thought I could hook the outs of my VCR to the Y, R, W connections on my XL2 and then firewire into my Mac to capture from a VCR tape, is this possible, it ain't workin, or I need to turn on a setting or something?
Chris Fritsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 10:55 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 18
The reason it isn't working is because the composite for the XL2 are outs, not ins (you use them to hook up to an external monitor, for instance)... I'm pretty sure they don't work as both.

You could try playing the VCR on the TV and recording from the XL2 to firewire, but it'd probably work best on a flat panel TV.

There is also a device available that does what you are referring to... I think it's about $130. You plug the out from the VCR into the device and it has firewire out.
Geoff Voorhees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 11:21 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 424
I always thought the XL2 supported analogue to digital conversion (my ZR-45 does and it's a lot cheaper). If it does, there is a setting somewhere but if it doesn't (I don't have mine here, so I can't confirm) don't keep trying or you could damage something.
Andrew Khalil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 11:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 565
Geoff is correct those are outs not in's. You wont be able to do it that way. sorry
Mark Bournes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 11:28 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 218
Manual pages 99-100

Hook up your VCR analog outputs to the appropriate terminals on the XL-2 (use either the S-video terminal or the composite terminal for video). Turn on the XL-2 to VCR, open the menu and select [VCR SETUP]. Select [AV -> DV], set it [ON] and close the menu. You can also do this with the remote by pressing the AV -> DV button. The XL-2 will now output the source VCR's signals as DV from the firewire (IEEE 1394) port. Remember to make all your connections with the XL-2 OFF.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
Doug Boze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 11:30 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Fritsche
I thought I could hook the outs of my VCR to the Y, R, W connections on my XL2 and then firewire into my Mac to capture from a VCR tape, is this possible, it ain't workin, or I need to turn on a setting or something?
Chris,

I have never tried to do what you are trying, but make sure the BNC/RCA switch is in the RCA position. See page 88 of your manual, the switch is very small and just on the left of the BNC connection.

Good luck,

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Voorhees
The reason it isn't working is because the composite for the XL2 are outs, not ins (you use them to hook up to an external monitor, for instance)... I'm pretty sure they don't work as both.
I'm sorry Geoff, that's not correct. At least not in the U.S. As was stated in a later post, you have to go into the menu and turn on AV>DV to make the analog jacks function as inputs. You also have to be in VCR mode.

This functionality was missing on the original XL-1 but was added starting with the XL-1s.

regards,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 12:24 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
I have used those jacks many times to go in. Just do as stated above.
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2006, 03:41 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX (Cypress to be exact)
Posts: 169
Mike I followed your instructions and it works, however I am not getting any sound through iMovie when the tape is running?
Chris Fritsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2006, 04:03 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Fritsche
Mike I followed your instructions and it works, however I am not getting any sound through iMovie when the tape is running?
Chris,

Sorry, but now you are out of my realm. I know nothing about iMovie. Someone will jump in, but what "tape" are you refering to? Have you already done the transfer?

Good Luck,

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 05:45 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX (Cypress to be exact)
Posts: 169
I am just playing an old VCR tape and trying to get the footage off it. I am running the VCR through the camera and the video is recording fine, I am just not getting any audio, and I didn't feel like spending $200 on one of those composite capture box's whn I have the XL2 which can do the same thing.
Chris Fritsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 07:21 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
Your audio needs to go into the two bottom jacks...
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 09:46 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 8
The reason your sound is not good is probably because you have not turned the audio input selector from Mic to Audio 1. Open the side panel and find the Audio Input Selector for Audio 1 and you'll understand. (Make sure your Red and White cables are plugged into the Audio 1 Ports.)

In the menu you can also select from a number of features under Audio Setup. I just left it on 16 bit audio and recently captured great analog video and sound using the method listed above combined with the one I just outlined.

Good Luck!!

Last edited by David Parish; March 7th, 2006 at 11:16 AM.
David Parish is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network