New XL-2 tomorrow, anything we MUST do first? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2006, 08:55 AM   #16
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Huddersfield UK
Posts: 3
xl2

Hi congrats on the xl2 I have had one for the last 9 months one of the best semipro cams on the market seems all as been said just one thing from a video engineer do not over do the cleaning tape itís not good for the heads depending on the use probably best done ones per month at the max.

malcolm
Malcolm J Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 09:10 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
Thanks guys.

I have opened the camera, assembled it (there was no guide, just the manual?), and have played with it a bit.

1) Before I record my first tape, which I'll probably record as a throw-away, can you let me know how long I need to use the head cleaner? 5-6 seconds? (The Ritz Camera person told me to use the whole tape and that didn't sound right...)

2) My XL-2, in a completely quiet room, with no tape inside, makes a weird sound. Like repetitive scratching noises, humming, most like the ticking of a clock, but way out of order/sync/rhythm. Sort of like this grinding noise-- Is that normal or is something really wrong?

3) The LCD flickers a bit. Normal?

That is all for now. Thanks. Hopefully all is good.

Cheers. and thanks again!
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 10:28 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Desmond
Thanks guys.

I have opened the camera, assembled it (there was no guide, just the manual?), and have played with it a bit.

1) Before I record my first tape, which I'll probably record as a throw-away, can you let me know how long I need to use the head cleaner? 5-6 seconds? (The Ritz Camera person told me to use the whole tape and that didn't sound right...)

2) My XL-2, in a completely quiet room, with no tape inside, makes a weird sound. Like repetitive scratching noises, humming, most like the ticking of a clock, but way out of order/sync/rhythm. Sort of like this grinding noise-- Is that normal or is something really wrong?

3) The LCD flickers a bit. Normal?

That is all for now. Thanks. Hopefully all is good.

Cheers. and thanks again!
I respectfully submit that your Ritz Camera person is a total freakin' idiot. 10 secs is generally regarded as a norm that I read from some manufacturers - seasoned users tend to say roughly 5 or 6 seconds should do the trick without too much wear on the heads.

Does the XL2 only make the sound when starting up or is it continous while in operation? There is noise in the lens system when it is powering up as inner works must re-set and range themselves....this causes a little noise. You might also note a small amount of motor noise if in auto mode and the target causes the camera to shift its exposure and settings - likewise with zoom in and out - these functions require the use of little motors in the lens that move the stabilizer and stuff around. If the noise is present even when these factors are not present, then I would probably be worried.

Regarding the flickering LCD, mine does not flicker and I have not heard of this problem from others. Is the connection well seated? It doesn't sound right to me.

-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 07:19 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
The LCD will flicker a bit, as it is an interlaced moniter. It has never been a problem for me, and I can only really see it in the black, if look too hard!

As for the noise, make sure you are not over reacting. Close the tape door (Push in the tape door, make sure it goes down, then close the door ontop of that).

Hit record and listen. You will always hear some tape noise, but not too much.

If you record video and the sound shows up on the tape, I would be worried.

Matt
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
Ok cool. Not too worried then...

BUT, in regards to cleaning the heads the first time. The Ritz lady also said PUT the tape in and hit RECORD... I've been reading online to just put it in and hit play.

So do you put the cleaning tape into the XL-2 in VCR mode and play it? Or do you put it in while ready to record-mode and hit the red record button?

Thanks.
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 06:35 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Joe. Just put it in and play the tape for 5-10 seconds. And don't worry so much, you should be out shooting video by now!

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 06:37 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter
Hi Joe. Just put it in and play the tape for 5-10 seconds. And don't worry so much, you should be out shooting video by now!

Richard
It's raining :)

Do I put it in VCR mode or just Tv/Av Mode and play it?
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 06:39 PM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
VCR mode. The others are for shooting.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 07:17 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
Very cool indeed. Thanks.

Another quick question: My room is not so dark at the moment, and i have the camera pointed at an object.

In Tv MODE, the GAIN orange bar lights up (below the LCD viewfinder)... I see a bit of noise as well in the shadows. So I pop out the GAIN switch and change it from A (Auto) to 0 (Zero)... And then the GAIN orange bar goes out and all seems well...

Question is, am I doing the right thing? I mean, when the orange bar lights up, is it telling me to FIX it and do what I did (changing the gain from A to 0?).
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 07:55 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 424
the orange led under the display is just lighting up to tell you your gain is on something other than the default (0). It will also do that with the shutter depending on the mode you're in since different frame rates have different ideal shutter speeds.
Andrew Khalil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2006, 07:05 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
I accidentally locked a custom PRESET setting and now I really REALLY want to reset it so I can put something else there... The manual says it cannot be reset, and I'm like wtf...

No easy solution for this?

Someone please tell me there is a way to reset all of this... Take out both batteries perhaps?
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2006, 07:23 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Desmond
I accidentally locked a custom PRESET setting and now I really REALLY want to reset it so I can put something else there... The manual says it cannot be reset, and I'm like wtf...

No easy solution for this?

Someone please tell me there is a way to reset all of this... Take out both batteries perhaps?
Joe, just go into the menu and unlock it. Then you can change anything you want. Page 70 of the manual, just reselect the Protect option and then it will let you Clear it.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 01:54 AM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,589
"...Ritz Camera person told me to use the whole tape..."

ArrgggHHH! Yee GODS! Sack that person!

"...I respectfully submit that your Ritz Camera person is a total freakin' idiot..."

And so say all of us...Quick! - Give Jonathan Jones a job as Managing Director of Ritz Cameras before it is too late...
__________________
www.WILDCARP.com
www.NIKON.me.uk
Tony Davies-Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 07:15 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 62
Thanks a lot guys.

Two weekends of shooting. I think the footage looks. Well, I wouldn't know.

I can't figure out how to get the XL-2 to show up in Premiere Pro 2.0 so I could capture...

I've searched the XL-2 manual and the help file for Premiere... HOW DO YOU CAPTURE video... This is mind boggling....

I'm going to keep trying while waiting for someone to post

Cheers!
Joe Desmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 07:41 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 424
What did you already try? All you need to do is plug it into your computer, switch it to VCR mode, then in Premiere, go to file>capture. The you should be able to just hit the "tape" button and it will start capturing at the current point on the tape, so make sure it's rewound. Sorry if that sounds really basic, I know you're probably a lot more experienced than that, just trying to make sure we're on the same page and trying to figure out exactly what isn't working.
Andrew Khalil is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network