XL2 and 60i??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2006, 08:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san fransisco, CA
Posts: 34
XL2 and 60i???

Hello,

I am working on a ski video and have normally been using Sony VX2000/2100s and editing on adobe premiere pro 2.0. Recently I got a XL2 and decided I would shoot everything in 30p unless I was going to make it slow motion, because I deinterlace the footage anyways after I shoot it.

Well, normally when I captured my 60i footage off the VX200 onto premiere it wouldn't need to render and I could just edit. So the first time I used my XL2 and it wanted me to render it I thought it was just because of the 30p, but when I wanted to shoot a shot for slowing down in adobe better in 60i it still wanted me to render it, Why? I thought it was the same 60i that came out of the VX2000. Also when I try to slow it down it is really choppy and looks horrible compared to the 60i footage that comes out of the Sony.

Any Help

james
James Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2006, 09:17 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi James. Just a suggestion - could it be that your project is 4:3 and your XL2 footage is 16:9?

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2006, 10:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san fransisco, CA
Posts: 34
Duh! Thanks. I have another question though. when you are making a film with 4:3 and 16:9 in premiere how do you go about doing that? I thought you could drop in the 16:9 clip and click "scale to frame" and it would just letterbox it.
James Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2006, 08:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi James. Sorry, I'm not familiar with Premiere Pro. In Vegas, you just set the project to 4:3 and the 16:9 clips will be letterboxed automatically. I thought Premiere would do something similar, but maybe you need to set the clip aspect ratio manually or something like that.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network