4 Channel Audio Capture & XL-2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 4th, 2006, 09:09 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 1
4 Channel Audio Capture & XL-2

I am trying to find a time and cost effective way to capture 3 or 4 channels of audio from my Canon XL-2. All of Premier's products including the Pro version will only capture 2 at a time. The XL-2 does not have a selective means of sending channels 3 and 4 only through the firewire connection. This results in only being able to capture channels 1 and 2 to Premier from the XL-2. Is there a better PC software to use? Any other solutions? Premier's expert support cannot help me and Canon's only suggestion was to capture with their $500 Console software, then edit in Premiere. Help!!!
Jeff Carr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2006, 01:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tyneside/ United Kingdom
Posts: 47
I know the feeling! I use a Casablanca Machine, you can't, mix the audio, through firewire, either, I have to go through the RCA Cables to do that. It's not too bad once you stop trying to do something, that's not possible!
You never know, upgrades, sometime happen.
Regards, Mike.
Mike Cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2006, 01:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
These forums are filled with posts on this specific topic. Using the Search function will give you many such hits. The general consensus as far as I have been able to tell is that if you are using a Windows machine, you will be able to do what you are asking by using an applications called Scenealyzer (sp?).

This app will allow you to capture the 4 channels of audio from the XL2 all in one pass via firewire, and allow you to retain the track independence of each channel.

Hope this helps.
-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 06:45 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
Actually, most everything will do it but as far as I know, they all require 2 passes. I use FCP to capture a mix down of the 4 channels for my assemble edits, then recapture the 4 tracks seperately for the final sound mix. Scenalyzer requires 2 passes as far as I know but it is automated.



ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 07:36 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Scenalyzer captures all 4 channels in a single pass. 2 channels are in the AVI file with the video stream, the other 2 are in a WAV file with a related name. The WAV file is the same length as the AVI, and starts from the same point. You just need to line them up in an NLE and they are in sync.

The main advantage of using Scenalyzer is this single pass capture, because it is so easy to sync up the separate audio clip.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 08:27 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
Interesting... wonder why Final Cut 5 (which can handle 8 audio track capture) can only capture 2 at a time...



ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 05:38 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Can't speak for Steve Jobs, but wouldn't be surprised if it's due to the 12 bit audio in DV 4-track mode. Many apps don't seem to know what to do with this.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 11:29 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
You can set FCP to 12bit audio and 32khz... the 4 tracks will still only show up as a mix down.


ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network