Timecode erases!!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2006, 07:28 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
Timecode erases!!!

My roommate and I have the same messed up problem I have a XL2 and he has a Xi, when I record something on my it generates timecode and recordes, but when I try to play it back there's no timecode on picture no a nothing. His camera does the same thing, its never done this before we both use the same computer and use vegas 6. Help please!!!
Travis McMunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 12:48 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Hi Travis. Not sure from your post how you are seeing (or rather, not seeing) the missing timecode.

If you connect the camera (in VCR mode) to your PC via firewire and run the Vegas capture application, you should see the timecode displayed, not on the picture, but at the bottom right of the pane that contains the preview window. If you play, fast-forward or rewind, you should see the timecode change accordingly. If this is working OK for you then you know the timecode is being captured correctly on tape.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 01:45 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
I found that it is not erasing anything I put one of my tapes into a mini dv deck and it played back fine, but when I put the same tape into the XL2 there was no timecode or picture. My camera when recording generates timecode and it seems to be working but when I rewinded the tape there was was nothing, but in the sony tape deck it played fine. So in other words my camera will not play back or record a tape.
Travis McMunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 01:55 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tyneside U.K.
Posts: 45
I think you have to set the menu in the camera, in order to see it.
Michael Cassidy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network