Custom presets-letters and numbers ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2006, 04:15 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Custom presets-letters and numbers ?

This is something that confuses me about the XL2. When I create a setting in the Custom Presets menu I save it as Custom Preset A, B or C. But then in the viewfinder window they're named CP1, CP2 or CP3. Does anybody know what the story is here? I did some experiments and Cusom Preset A does seem to correspond to CP1 and so on. What the reason is for this change in terminology I can't imagine. Someone please let me in on the secret.

Thank you,
-Hunter
Hunter Sandison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 05:18 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
That's true. Kind of an anomaly but....if you use the Bluebarn Presets software available here on DVINFO, you can change A,B,C into meaningful descriptions that will show up in the VF when you select them.

Note that you can't alter the preset title in camera, only via software.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 05:56 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Thanks for the reply Greg.
So its just some kind of oversite and A=1,B=2 and C=3? Unfotunately I have a Mac so I guess I'll just have to get used to it. Not that big a deal really it just seems odd that Canon designed it that way. Speaking of odd design does anyone know of anyway to disable the automatic shut off function?

Thanks,
-Hunter
Hunter Sandison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2006, 01:44 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Hunter, you disable the automatic shut off function this way:

In the menu: vcr setup - power save - vcr stop (default is shut off)

Good luck!
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 04:28 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Thank you, Per -Hunter
Hunter Sandison is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network