Shooting a LCD monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2006, 04:09 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9
Shooting a LCD monitor

I'm doing a computer tutorial I'll be posting on the web... Any suggestions on how to set the camera up to optimize shooting a LCD monitor in my office?

Thanks in advance.
Tim
__________________
NRG.tv
Tim Suggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 06:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ransomville NY
Posts: 239
Is there a good reason to actually film the screen? There are many free or relatively cheap solutions for capturing whats on your screen into an AVI right on the computer. If your doing some sort of demonstration for the computer, hooking a mic up to the computer and recording the screen directly is the way to go.

-Kyle
__________________
Online Portfolio | Feature Film on XHA1
Kyle Prohaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2006, 09:11 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 11
Screen capture is the answer

Just like Kyle said, using software to record a screen capture from within your OS is usually the best and easiest option. Alternitavely, you could do a line out feed directly to your camera if your video card has a s-video or composite out, and do a line in record on the XL2. If you still want to do a capture of the physical screen, you can. If its a CRT, you will need to match the refresh rate of the monitor by using Tv (shutter priority) mode, or using "clearscan mode". If it is an LCD monitor, you will just have to worry about getting a proper exposure, the refresh rate is not an issue.

All three ways work, but doing a software screen capture is still the fastest and easiest way IMHO.

Ryan
__________________
It's nice to get paid to play.
www.blacksandstudios.com
Ryan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 01:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 54
I used ishow

I used ishow to capture the screen and it looks great but when I bring the file to Final Cut 6 it looks very bad, you can not read the text.

I caprure the video 720X480 and full screen.
I also captured native DV but it looks very bad.

Help!!!
Santos Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 02:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 336
If you do have your heart set on capturing via camera, I have done this once before and it turned out superb. I shot 16x9 considering I have a widescreen LCD monitor. I used the stock settings of the XL2, and made sure I had proper exposure. Make sure there is no glare on the monitor, and make sure to shoot the monitor as square on as you can manage.

I showed the end result to one of my film school peers, and he couldn't believe that I shot it with the XL2.
Ryan Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 04:19 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 54
Thanks

Ryan,

I did capture the video with the JVC GY-HD110U and it looks very bad,
when I bring it to final cut it look so blurry.
I am not sure if this is a problem with this camera.
last time I did something like this I use a sony camera and it worked well.
Now I am using ishow and I am havin the same problem.
I have the apple 23 in at home so I will test it later



regards,
Jose


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Mueller View Post
If you do have your heart set on capturing via camera, I have done this once before and it turned out superb. I shot 16x9 considering I have a widescreen LCD monitor. I used the stock settings of the XL2, and made sure I had proper exposure. Make sure there is no glare on the monitor, and make sure to shoot the monitor as square on as you can manage.

I showed the end result to one of my film school peers, and he couldn't believe that I shot it with the XL2.
Santos Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Santos Ramos View Post
I used ishow to capture the screen and it looks great but when I bring the file to Final Cut 6 it looks very bad, you can not read the text.
It's actually called iShowU, and it works great - worth the measly $20 they ask for it. Mac only.

http://www.shinywhitebox.com/home/home.html
Jack Barker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network