FCP won't recognize my XL2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2007, 07:22 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 15
FCP won't recognize my XL2

FCP's not recognizing my camera. I've seen a few problems like this but I'm not getting a clear answer. What do I do? HELP!
Joe Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 08:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Wilson
FCP's not recognizing my camera. I've seen a few problems like this but I'm not getting a clear answer. What do I do? HELP!
Try a different firewire cable.
Try rebooting your Mac.
Try removing other Firewire devices (hard drives, etc).

On my G5 I had horrible problems like this, and I eventually bought a PCI-X Firewire card with three ports and it's been much better. My Mac Pro has been more stable.
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 05:38 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Maller
Try a different firewire cable.
Try rebooting your Mac.
Try removing other Firewire devices (hard drives, etc).

On my G5 I had horrible problems like this, and I eventually bought a PCI-X Firewire card with three ports and it's been much better. My Mac Pro has been more stable.
Hey Steve,

Thanks for responding. Sorry I've been out of town and didn't have a chance to get back.

I've tried it all except the PCI card. Which one would you recommend?
Joe Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 06:45 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 44
Don't want to insult...

Hey, i don't want to insult your knowledge of FCP, but have you tried "Refresh Devices" and made sure that in your Preferences, "Mirror on Desktop" is selected? Just a few little things to check before buying a new firewire card!
Corey Aumiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 08:01 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corey Aumiller
Hey, i don't want to insult your knowledge of FCP, but have you tried "Refresh Devices" and made sure that in your Preferences, "Mirror on Desktop" is selected? Just a few little things to check before buying a new firewire card!
Trust me, you're not insulting my knowledge of FCP since I don't have a lot of it in the first place. So anything that you can tell me is much appreciated. I'll try your suggestions. Thanx.
Joe Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 09:18 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Wilson
Trust me, you're not insulting my knowledge of FCP since I don't have a lot of it in the first place. So anything that you can tell me is much appreciated. I'll try your suggestions. Thanx.
Guys got it to work. Disconnected all other firewire devices(lacie hardrive) and everything you guys mentioned. Not sure what really did it but it works now.

Now, where do i store my files, if my Lacie isn't hooked up?
Joe Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2007, 01:25 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corey Aumiller
Hey, i don't want to insult your knowledge of FCP, but have you tried "Refresh Devices" and made sure that in your Preferences, "Mirror on Desktop" is selected? Just a few little things to check before buying a new firewire card!
Thanks Corey.
Joe Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2007, 06:11 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 44
no worries, joe. glad it worked. did you find some space to store footage on one of the hard drives?
Corey Aumiller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network