Canon H1 interlacing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Canon H1 interlacing

Hello Canon family,

I was hoping you could answer a few questions I have regarding the Canon H1. I have had the H1 for about a year now and edit on the Matrox RT.X2. I shoot 50i and but have noticed some interlacing problems. I do not use the lens image stabilizer and shoot with a shutter 50 -100 usually with the aperture wide open or as close to. The movement is not great - I shoot a lot of hand held and the interlacing is at times really distracting.

What advise do you have to aid the interlacing effect? Im sure the
interlacing happens in camera and not in the NLE matrox.

Also I have read much about the down convert methods used by dv info net
users I have recently been experimenting with Virtual dub and TMPGEnc to
encode my SD DVDs. What do you think of this method and what other
options would you recommend?

Thanks for you time..

Regards, Scott.
Scott Holgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 12:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
The Rt2 is a decent system for HDV, however the issue you're seeing is predominately a slower shutter within temporal frames. Couple that with the HDV codec and more than likely you're pushing the camera to its limits in regard to motion + weak codec = artefacts.

Turn on OIS.

I honestly don't know why you wouldn't turn this on when shooting handheld in any case

As for the Rt2, it does a good downconvert in realtime, I don't know why you wouldn't take advantage of the HW benefits available to you.
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 05:12 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Thanks for the reply Peter, At the risk of sounding stupid what do you mean by HW?
Scott Holgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 07:04 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
HW = Hardware

The Rt2 is a realtime Hardware encoder/decoder, in turn, you do not require any additional processing power to get good performance or for encoding.

Bear in mind that with Premiere, you are still required to pre-render certain sections for realtime preview which may not be supported by the Matrox card (such as combo filter configs using the Prem GPU/CPU filters), but this should only be on rare occasions.
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network