Help with DM-50 audio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2008, 01:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Help with DM-50 audio?

Hey all, I recently purchased the Canon DM-50 directional stereo microphone and I am having some problems getting it to work. The audio aspect of the camera is not one of my strong points, and I've tried everything I could think of to make it work. I connect it to the "shoe" on the top of the camera, and then tried to switch all the audio buttons to the shoe and turn them all on. After all this I'm still not picking up any audio levels on the screen while recording. I don't think this is right because I'm pretty sure the microphone should be compatible and I should be picking up audio. I am hoping that someone on here uses the same microphone and can help me out. I just need to know what all the audio settings need to be in order for this mic to pick up audio.

Thanks again,
Anthony
Anthony Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 02:40 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Anthony,
I'm not sure about if the DM-50 will work at all on the H1!

The manual dosn't mention it, only the MA-300 Microphone adapter. Anyway, you may try it out by toggle the audio to track 3-4 which I think the accessory shoe use (according to the wire diagram in the manual). Use the Audio monitor button down left for the power dial wheel to toggle between the audio tracks.
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 10:49 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
The DM-50 is listed on the Canon website as an accessory to the XL H1. So I'm pretty sure it's compatible unless Canon made a mistake or something... I'm not positive though and that would suck if it's not!
Anthony Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 12:37 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Did you try to toggle the audio to tracks 3-4?
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 12:24 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Per-

I've tried to switch the audio on the channels like you said, but still nothing. And also, I do not see a "channel 3 or 4" switch on the camera... It seems like it should work, but I still see no sign of the camera receiving any audio input. And I can't seem to get the "audio monitor" button to do anything either. I am almost positive that the DM-50 should work, I can't find any reason for it not to, I just do not know how to use it! Which is a big problem! Anyway, maybe I will have to call someone or something unless someone else on the site can help me...

Thanks Per,

Anthony
Anthony Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 05:45 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,589
Anthony, you need to not only set the correct audio channels on the side of the H1, but also change the Audio in the main internal Menu settings.
__________________
www.WILDCARP.com
www.NIKON.me.uk
Tony Davies-Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 11:07 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Tony-

Do you know which settings those would be? I just went in to the menu and once again could not find the correct setting. It seems like I am getting so close but I just can't seem to get the right setting!

Is there anyone on the board that actually uses this microphone??

-Anthony
Anthony Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 03:22 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Anthony,
push Menu-button, then Audio setup, then Audio mode, choose 4CH and you done.
Then audio monitor button to swap between ch1-2 and ch3-4.
But as I have said can't give you any guarantee for the DM-50 to work though!
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 05:23 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Per-

I've tried everything. I'm gonna try and call Canon Tech support, but obviously I can't find their number. I am positive the microphone works with the camera, I'm just doing something wrong. Thanks for your help anyway.
Anthony Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 05:49 PM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Follow these instructions step by step.

1. Menu > Audio Setup > Audio Mode: 4CH

3. Menu > Display Setup > Audio Level > On

4. Insure that the DM-50 is firmly connected to the Advanced Accessory Shoe.

5. At audio control panel: Set "Audio2" input select switch to Shoe.

6. At audio control panel: Set "Audio2" rec level switch to Auto.

7. Connect headphones. Set the headphones volume dial at midway.

8. Press the Audio Monitor button a couple of times until "Ch 3 4" is displayed at the Audio Level indicator area of the viewfinder.

9. Snap fingers in front of the DM-50. You should hear the sound in the headphones and see the levels displayed in the audio levels meter in the EVF.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 12:47 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver/Vail Colorado
Posts: 254
would there be any advantage to using the dm-50 over the stock xlh1 mic? I can't imagine the quality would be as good.
Peter Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 01:36 PM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I don't know why you'd want two stereo mics on top of the camera (the stock onboard mic and the DM-50). The only situation I can think of for using the DM-50 on an XL H1 is when you don't want the EVF on the camera but still need to take audio... on a SteadiCam for instance.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 02:43 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver/Vail Colorado
Posts: 254
good point Chris - but even then a $10 shoe/mic adapter and you're good to go with the better quality stock mic.
Peter Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 02:47 PM   #14
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The DM-50 would save weight and provide a reference
audio which wouldn't necessarily be used in the final mix.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network