Firewire will not work with laptop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2008, 09:21 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Firewire will not work with laptop

I just picked up an Acer 5420-5687 laptop with a 4 pin firewire connection. I bought a new 4pin X 4pin cable from radio shack. I can't get my laptop to recognize my XL H1 via Pre Pro CS3 or Canon Console. However, I can get it to work with my PC via a 4x6 pin Firewire in both CS3 and Console. I've updated the drivers on my laptop. Still... no connection.

Any ideas?
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 12:30 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 81
I had a very similar situation, what I found after much hair pulling is that the 4-pin connector was not long enough to seat correctly into the laptop. What I was able to do, was to take out a box cutting knife and trim the plastic around the 4-pin connector so that it was a wee-bit longer. Never had a problem since!

Good luck and hope your problem is a simple fix like mine was!

Cheers, Jon
Jon Pavli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 04:34 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Jon-

Thanks!

When I first tried to connect to Canon Console I would get pop ups that indicated that windows found new hardware (i.e. camera). I followed the instructions for console.. right clicked on the device called "Canon Camera" and then selected "take no action".

I'm thinking that the connection is OK. I get the windows "Ding" every time I connect and disconnect from the laptop. Also - the camera is in DV Control mode (YES). When I attempt to connect to Console. It is not in DV Control when I attempt to connect to P-Pro CS3. I do that in VCR mode. However, it all works great on my PC.

I really hate to take a knife to my new cable. If I was convinced that was the problem I would do it.
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 06:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
By the way....

I am using Windows XP service pack 2. I use driver detective to update my drivers. It appears that all drivers are up to date. This is driving me crazy.
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 08:27 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
I found this: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en


If that does not work I'm thinking that perhaps I should go with a FireWire-800 ExpressCard/54 Expansion Card. This would give me a 6 pin connection at the laptop. Perhaps the card comes with drivers too.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Expansion.html
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 09:16 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Looks like I'm taking over my own post. I figured I'd ask this question here.


Q - Is the XL H1 IEEE 1394 (400) or (800).

Thanks
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 09:45 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
400 if by 400 you mean firewire 400 which I think you do.
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 09:58 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Nick-

Yes 400. You answered my question. I found this on Microsoft's site:

"After you install Windows XP Service Pack 2, some 1394 devices (such as digital cameras that use S400 speed) may not perform as expected. Install this update to help prevent this issue. After you install this update, you will have to restart your computer"

I'm going to try this when I get home. Hopefully it does the trick.

Thanks for your response.
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 07:00 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
I uninstalled my IEEE 1394 driver & reinstalled. When I connect the HL H1 the laptop recognizes it. When it asks for the driver I installed the canon virtual VCR (within XP) as instructed by the canon console instructions. Following the install of the canon virtual VCR I get a failure Code 10.

After extensive research I still can't find the problem.
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network