I got the new XL H1S! :) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 4th, 2008, 09:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
I got the new XL H1S! :)

So I got the camera, and it actually feels to be a better upgrade than I thought. The lens certainly feels a lot better than I thought it was going to be.

I can post more about it later ... but nice camera :)
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Michael,

Congratulations!

In my opinion, it is a significant upgrade.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2008, 01:40 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MOSCOW
Posts: 860
Great news, Michael, from H1 to Ex1 to H1s, wow!
BTW you've never posted comparable shots of H1 and Ex1, could you, if you still have EX1?
HOw would you compare two cameras?

Really exciting!
Oleg Kalyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2008, 12:44 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
some quick observations:

The lens feels quite a bit better. It feels heftier, the rings have more weight and tactile grip to them as Canon changed the ring teeth. The lens also is larger in diameter overall, I noticed my follow focus doesn't just slide on the rails under it anymore, they collide with the lens, so I had to lower the rails a bit more. It is still a 72mm thread.

Love some of the new features like variable peaking ... can set 2 levels of peaking for focusing. You can also set the viewfinder to automatically turn B&W when using peaking and magnify, and back to color when you turn magnify or peaking off ... helps greatly with the focusing ... kind of like some hybrid version of the 2 viewfinders from Canon.

Automatic Gain Limiter is nice ... I can set it to ceiling at 6DB now, which is where I can tolerate gain the most.

Thank goodness for the embedded HD-SDI ... I have the IO HD and this is a nice thing for my uncompressed capturing now.

There's also quite a bit of change in the audio, although haven't really played that far yet.

I'll let you know more as I explore :)

Last edited by Michael Galvan; July 5th, 2008 at 03:07 PM.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2008, 04:52 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MOSCOW
Posts: 860
Great, keep us updated, do you still have EX1?
Oleg Kalyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 25
I have been waiting for someone to post about the new cam. I will be watching this post. This is the cam I am looking into heavily.
Daniel Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 10:29 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oleg Kalyan View Post
Great, keep us updated, do you still have EX1?
Yeah, It's a friend/colleague that owns it ... I just get to use it whenever I want :)
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 09:03 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 25
Great work Michael, very nice stuff.
Daniel Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:08 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Galvan View Post
Thank goodness for the embedded HD-SDI ... I have the IO HD and this is a nice thing for my uncompressed capturing now.
I've been considering this workflow. Isn't the HD-SDI format always over 60i? Wouldn't you still have to de-interlace your 1080 @ 60i Pro-Res to 1080 @ 23.98p Pro-Res (granted if you wanted to shoot 24p)?
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:56 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Lopez View Post
Great work Michael, very nice stuff.
Thanks

:)
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:58 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Drews View Post
I've been considering this workflow. Isn't the HD-SDI format always over 60i? Wouldn't you still have to de-interlace your 1080 @ 60i Pro-Res to 1080 @ 23.98p Pro-Res (granted if you wanted to shoot 24p)?
-C
Yes, no matter what framerate you shoot, its always 60i out of the HD-SDI. So I always do my reverse telecine using Cinema Tools after I capture.

Unfortunately the IO HD doesn't do it on the fly.

I uploaded a clip from a film in which I used this workflow ... its "Killer Headline" on my website. There are pics too showing some of the setup.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:41 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Michael,
hate to sound like a lammo, but what is the process for you to transfer what you shot HD-SDI 60i using Cinema Tools to make it 24P. Love the look of your work on your site (KILLER HEADLINE) Also, i was looking at your rig on your site (Photo gallery), and how did you get the audio embedded? Analog? Whats the process? Thanks you.
__________________
Canon 7D and 5D Mark II,Canon XL H1, XL2, Cinevate Atlas 30, Advanta Jib, AJA i/O, KONA LHe, AJA I/O HD, ZEISS PRIMES, G5 Quad Core, MacPro 2.66GHz, XSERVE RAID 10TB
Gregory Dillard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:51 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
SORRY!! YOU HAVE THE NEW XL H1S!! DUUHHHH, it embeds the audio!!
__________________
Canon 7D and 5D Mark II,Canon XL H1, XL2, Cinevate Atlas 30, Advanta Jib, AJA i/O, KONA LHe, AJA I/O HD, ZEISS PRIMES, G5 Quad Core, MacPro 2.66GHz, XSERVE RAID 10TB
Gregory Dillard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 03:30 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Michael, Have you done any HD-SDI capture with the EX1? I believe it's TRUE 10-bit, which would be pretty awsome and improvement over the H1's 8-bit color (I would think).

Thanks.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 06:22 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Peter,

Yes, the Sony EX1 is 10-bit.

I was able to use a Canon XL H1s at the Canon booth, at NAB, for three days.

Behind us was a nice poster which had a very interesting and detailed color gradient.

I was expecting to see banding in the colors using the XL H1s.

In all of my tests, pointing the XL H1s at various areas of the poster, I could not see any banding on the screen. We were using an Apple Cinema display feed from the HD-SDI port through an adapter.

The results were great.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network