Drop Frame playback in HV10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 18th, 2009, 08:36 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 249
Drop Frame playback in HV10

So...just finished shooting 10 hours of 24f with the H1. Used my HV10 to digitize the footage into our Avid Adrenaline. The documentary we're doing will AIR...so dropframe was recorded on the tapes.

hmmmm...the Hv10 didn't show that ( 01;10;14;23) Instead it showed...01:10:14:23 non-drop frame !

no biggie...the sequence will be drop frame...and will adjust the count....but I also noticed...when digitizing the footage. The Avid would accept the footage via firewire...but then around 4min. 24 seconds....stop recording and give a "bad tc error"... ;)

wow. I got all the footage into the system....and disregarded the tc...but thought this was wierd. Anyone run into this before ?
Shooting Video since 1/2" EIAJ reel to reel and editing on 2" QUAD machines.

Last edited by Kevin Martorana; February 18th, 2009 at 08:41 PM. Reason: correction
Kevin Martorana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2009, 12:17 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,262
Not sure what the settings on the original camera were but some manufacturers locked out Drop frame when shooting 24 frames as the math never adds up correctly. The Canon manual Page 44 says it will only do Non drop in 24F DV. It doesn't say it can't do drop frame in HDV 24F so maybe it can. In truth you probably should use Non-drop in the field in 24F HDV given the way Canon does its 24F recordings and worry about the length of the program once you get into post if you really need the time accuracy.
If the Avid thought it was seeing Non Drop and then it was really seeing drop there would be a timecode error which might take a few minutes to be big enough for it to stop. Ignoring the Timecode on import was one way. Maybe changing TC settings on the Avid might have been another way to deal with it.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 01:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
Posts: 76
Drop Frame Time Code


If I remember correctly from my days at Pipeline Digital, drop-frame TC drops two frames every minute, except every tenth minute. So, assuming that, for whatever reason, your time code delimiter (the : and ;) is whacked, drop-frame time code number


should not exist, it really should be


Do you see "all balls" every minute except the tenth, or do you see :02?

Somebody check me on this... it's kinda late here in Honolulu!

All the best,

Jeff DePonte is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network