No camera-info (Canon XL-H1) on my Marshall V-LCD70P-3GSDI 7" monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2009, 02:44 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
No camera-info (Canon XL-H1) on my Marshall V-LCD70P-3GSDI 7" monitor

Hi,

I've just bought a Marshall V-LCD70P-3GSDI 7" monitor to use with my Canon XL-H1.
It delivers a beautiful image, but I just can't get my camera-info (shutter speed, f-stop, volume, recording mark) on my Marshall...
I use the HD-SDI ports on both devices.

I think I've tried every setting on my XL-H1. Is there anyone who knows if this info can be displayed on my Marshall and how?

Thanks a lot!
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 08:26 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Janetville Ontario Canada
Posts: 210
Hi Rob,

I also use a monitor with the XL-H1s. The only port that I have been able to get camera information is the second viewfinder port (monitor port) just below the main port. That is component output (not HD-SDI). The image is good, but may not quite as good as the HD-SDI ports. It does however have the camera information and will respond to the peaking and the magnification settings to aid focus.

Others have suggested there is perhaps a 10% difference in quality. My monitor is not full HD so I can't see any difference between the two outputs.

Alan
Alan Emery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 08:42 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
Hey Alan,

Thanks for the hint! I will buy me some component cables and give it a test.

Thanks again,

Rob
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 09:46 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
Unfortunately...I can't hook up the Marshall on my XL-H1 through component connectors...
The standard cable that comes with the XL-H1 has cinch connectors, as the Marshall has bajonet connetors (see the pic). Too bad!
Attached Thumbnails
No camera-info (Canon XL-H1) on my Marshall V-LCD70P-3GSDI 7" monitor-marshall-v-lcd70p-3gsdi_connections.jpg  
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 09:58 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Rob, yes you can! Get some rca-bnc connectors, like this one:
Amazon.com: Q-See QSRCBN6 6 Pack RCA-BNC Connectors: Camera & Photo
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 10:52 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Janetville Ontario Canada
Posts: 210
Hi Rob,

I also had the same problem. I am using an Ikan V8000 that does not have RCA connectors. As Per suggested, I went to my nearest store that supplies TVs and hobby electronics. The little RCA-BNC adapters are easy to use and not very expensive (needless to say you will need three of them).

And as you have shown, you don't need an extra component cable for the monitor output on the camera, one comes with the camera. It is short, but if you need the camera info, presumably you will be close to the camera anyway.

If someone else needs to see a monitor, the port at the bottom back of the camera also is component and the camera comes with a special cable for that as well. In this case you can hook that port to an LCD TV screen most of which also have component inputs.

This still leaves the HD-SDI available if you are doing uncompressed capture or if you should get a nanoflash to hook to the camera.

The end result is massive tangle of wires, but it works.

Alan
Alan Emery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2009, 10:54 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Janetville Ontario Canada
Posts: 210
Hi Again Rob,

I just noticed you showed the cable for the port at the back of the camera. You will need to use the special short cable for the second monitor output. It has a metal plug, not the black plug. It also should have come with the camera.

Good luck,
Alan
Alan Emery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2009, 03:22 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
Thanks Per Johan for the hint!

Alan, there is no other cable supplied with my XL-H1 (remember, it's not a XL-H1s but a previous version). Isn't it possible with the Canon DTC-1000 cable in the picture?
And which port do you mean? The one made for the Canon FU-1000 viewfinder?
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2009, 04:48 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Janetville Ontario Canada
Posts: 210
Hi Rob,

Yes, you need to use the port designed for the Canon FU-1000 monochrome viewfinder. I believe your camera also has that socket. I have attached a picture of the H1 (not H1s) second viewfinder socket. At least on my camera, when the colour monitor is hooked up to that socket, it delivers a full colour image with the camera information. In the picture of my monitor you can see the short cable and the RCA/BNC adapters that I had to use.

Alan
Attached Images
  
Alan Emery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2009, 05:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
2 things to note:

- That component chord that connects to the EVF2 port only comes with the newer XL H1s and only works with that model.

- The output is Standard Def only ... but all your view finder functions (such as peaking, viewfinder info, etc.) will translate through to your external monitor.

Hope this helps.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2009, 08:57 PM   #11
Starway Pictures
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Studio City
Posts: 581
I don't think ANY camera outputs display-info through the HD-SDI ports. Do they?
Robert Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2009, 03:35 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Good afternoon,


there is one problem. If you use a FU 1000 view finder you have to use the lower port for it!

Unfortunately the plug faces up and you can not use the upper port for the Marshall or small hd!! Not sure if you even could use the upper one, anyone know??

If I use the component out (and it has way to much extra cable to deal with) I then do not get the view finder information.


any solutions?
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 08:21 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
With the 'old' XL-H1 (mine), you can use the standard component port at the back of the shoulder mount. Then it gives camera info on the monitor. And I can still use my FU-1000 viewfinder. Alan, the cable you show didn't come with the first versions of the XL-H1. I have to use the long Canon DTC-1000 cable for it. But it is good enough when I want to monitor the shots my cameraman makes.

For me this case is closed guys, thanks for helping me out!
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network