Sd-sdi at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 25th, 2005, 06:23 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Berlin, Federal Republic of Germany
Posts: 109
Sd-sdi

How much is the quantity of data with SD-SDI (in Gbps or Mbps)?
Robert Niemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 07:08 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
My understanding from very limited reading is that the SD SDI spec allows variable bit rates from 143 Mbps to 540 Mbps, but that 270 Mbps seems to be the standard data rate that most equipment will support. I don't know how the XL H1 handles SD SDI; maybe someone with more tech info can add some comments.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 08:04 AM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Bauer
My understanding from very limited reading is that the SD SDI spec allows variable bit rates from 143 Mbps to 540 Mbps, but that 270 Mbps seems to be the standard data rate that most equipment will support. I don't know how the XL H1 handles SD SDI; maybe someone with more tech info can add some comments.
SMPTE standard is 270Mbps so that should be what the camera outputs.
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 08:30 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Berlin, Federal Republic of Germany
Posts: 109
I think, the SD-SDI feature of the XL H1 is a very interesting one too. I just cannot wait to see the quality in comparison with DV, DVCPRO and DVCPRO50.
Does anybody know, why with SD-SDI there could be variable bit rates from 143 Mbps to 540 Mbps, as Pete has written?
Robert Niemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 02:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 416
Its not "variable" per say. It has to do with the exact specification of the image. Colourspace (4:2:2 vs 4:4:4) and bitdepth (8bit or 10bit) are the actual big factors that change bitrate along with the sample frequency, but like said before 270Mbps is pretty much the standard for SMPTE 125.

SMPTE 125M = 27mhz at max of 10 bit = 270mbps
SMPTE 267M = 36mhz at max of 10 bit = 360mbps
SMPTE 344M = 54mhz at max of 10 bit = 540mbps
SMPTE 274M = 74.25mhz at 20bit = 1.485Gbps

Most SD-SDI will be smpte 125, if its widescreen possibly (doubtful at best, haven't even see this used anywhere) smpte 267m, and really strange and high end smpte 344. The XL H1 will be Smpte 274M and if it does SD over SDI then SMPTE 125M but I would doubt any of the others. The actual capturable datarate is dependant on active samples which is actually different rate, just a little lower.
Keith Wakeham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 02:26 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 165
So, what kind of setup would you need to capture 4:2:2 SD?
Daniel Broadway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 04:57 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,570
A BMD declink card and a decent SATA RAID 0 disk system on either a Mac or a PC. For field recording either a Digital Betacam or DVCPRO50 deck. Don't know much about DVCPRO 50 but for DB Sony do a field recorder. Any tape based recorder though is going to cost you more than the camera I think.
Bob Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2005, 05:18 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 165
How much would a SATA RAID setup cost? Sorry, I am very new to this.
Daniel Broadway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 04:03 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 416
720 x 486 x 10 bit (?) x 30 fps x 1 full channel and 2 half channels = 25 Megabytes/ Second.

So a nice single Sata drive should deal okay and a two drive raid 0 should be plenty.

Black magic has their prices on their website and all you would need other than that is a sata card and a couple of drives. Aja cards are available too, and I think they recently released PC versions of their cards. The 7200.8 seagates are pretty fast along with the Maxline III in the larger sizes. Sorry I can't give a better idea on price, it varies a lot and a lot of PC's have sata Raid onboard.
Keith Wakeham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 04:43 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 165
Ok, I've never looked into Raid drives. I don't know where to buy them, or anything. I'll have to research a bit more.
Daniel Broadway is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network