24F to DV100 24p works! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 15th, 2006, 05:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
24F to DV100 24p works!

Hidely ho, neighbors!

Ok, I've finally figured out how to get some of my 24F SDI tethered shots from the DVCPROHD codec, extracting the 2:3 pulldown from the 1080i in Cinema Tools and leaving the progressive frames in the codec, at 23.98 without any recompression. It took quite a few tries until I found the right reverse telecine process.

Anywho, no, I didn't roll HDV at the same time, so later on down the road I'll be able to show a good comparison between the codecs, but for now, look at the clip and judge it for how it delivers 1080p in DVCPROHD. It's a 12 sec. FCP QT clip of raw DV100. I'll put up an h.264 for you non-fcp folks soon.

Btw, whatever resolution your monitor is running, I recommend setting QT player to :

present movie>full screen. Loop it too, if you can. You will have choppy playback unless the player scales it to 16x9 properly to your monitor. I have a G5 2.7 with my monitor set to 1600x1200 and it doesn't play smoothly unless I do this. You can view the actual resolution, but unless you have a fast mac/pc and a 1900x1200 display, it will probably be choppy.

www.homepage.mac.com/mrbarlowelton

Comments?
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 11:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 77
The h.264 looks good! A lot less noise and artifacts in the image then the HDV footage, only complaint is its choppy on my PC, but thats to be expected on windows.

How did you record it to SDI? Really long SDI cable back to your house?

My HD display is on my PC at the moment so I'll have to dig up quicktimepro for windows to have a look at the DVCPROHD footage.

Thanks Barlow, More comments to come.
__________________
"If we build RED they will come"

Last edited by Ashley Hosking; January 15th, 2006 at 11:53 PM.
Ashley Hosking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 03:25 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
Hmmmm, I didn't notice "a lot" less anything. I guess that's because I've never really seen a lot of noise or artifacts in the canon hdv footage to begin with.

Barlow...your tests are great and we really appriciate the time you're taking to do this good stuff. Please keep it coming and keep up the good work.

On your next test, please roll some tape as well, so we can do a perfect comparison of HDV and DVCPRO-HD. It would be nice if you had a Panasonic 1200 deck. But it's all good. If you are in fact recordng a genuwine DVCPRO-HD stream, then if you did this comparison, you will be the the 1st in the world to ever do it! a direct comparison of HDV & DVCPRO-HD coming from the same camera, lens, filters, head, image settings, etc.... AT PRECISELY THE SAME TIME & POSITION. There would be NO DENYING the outcome if you provide like 10-20 seconds of raw footage to us.

- ShannonRawls.com
__________________
Shannon W. Rawls ~ Motion Picture Producer & huge advocate of Digital Acquisition.

Last edited by Shannon Rawls; January 16th, 2006 at 01:05 PM.
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 10:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Workin' on it, Shannon. I'll do that test, but I pretty much already know there's hardly going to be a difference. The HDV is superb, but I do like scrubbing in an i-frame codec.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
I dunno about that Barlow,

I expect DVCPRO-HD to spank the HDV codec when it comes to camera movement.
I expect HDV to spank the DVCPRO-HD codec when it comes to locked off tripod shots.

.......after all, Canon even used DVCPRO-HD for their DVD demo where camera movement was needed and they usede HDV where shots were locked on tripod. (think about it). *smile* Either way, it would be nice to see the differences coming from the same camera. It's like the perfect CODEC test.

- ShannonRawls.com
__________________
Shannon W. Rawls ~ Motion Picture Producer & huge advocate of Digital Acquisition.
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network