Capturing audio when capturing through HD-SDI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2006, 04:28 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Capturing audio when capturing through HD-SDI

I have been shooting in 24F HDV and converting the .m2t files to DV100 before editing in Final Cut Pro. I am looking into using the HD-SDI port for uncompressed capture. But my question is how would I capture my audio? When capturing through HD-SDI, can I assume that the audio doesn't go through the MPEG compression as well? Since the audio doesn't capture through the HD-SDI, how would I be able to capture uncompressed, if thats possible? Thanks in advance ...
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 06:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
The only way is via the Analog audio outputs of the camera.

You only can capture uncompressed if you record it uncompressed. HDV audio recording is then not an option. An idea is to sync a DAT-recorder or something like that with the XL H1, via the SMPTE-timecode output and Genlock. Im looking into that for a documentary I'm shooting in the nearby future.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 11:31 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Michael,

If you're shooting directly into the computer and bypassing HDV, you can indeed get uncompressed audio. If you're playing back from tape, at the very least, you can go RCA analog out to the Stereo mini-plug in of the G5.
This actually works better than most would think, and it's a 16bit 48Khz uncompressed acquisition of the HDV audio you will capture into DV100. I did this with an entire hour's capture of HDV and it worked fine with no sync issues.

If you go this route, I would recommend boosting the output of the H1 slightly through a mixer. Same thing if you get a Kona and go RCA to XLR in.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Thanks for your responses. It seems that syncing a DAT recorder or deparate audio recorder would give me the best quality audio. If I used the analog audio out ports, what kind of audio quality would I get, as I have never recorded from those ports before ...
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 09:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 540
Check out the Tascam HD-P2. It records to compact flash and microdrives and can take timecode in from the H1. I just got one and haven't tested it too much, but so far I love it. Great little unit and it's just under $1k. MUCH better than a DAT deck. Just plug it in to your computer via firewire and transfer the files.

KW
Kevin Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 10:04 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Wild
Check out the Tascam HD-P2. It records to compact flash and microdrives and can take timecode in from the H1. I just got one and haven't tested it too much, but so far I love it. Great little unit and it's just under $1k. MUCH better than a DAT deck. Just plug it in to your computer via firewire and transfer the files.

KW
Kevin: Do you have any experience with sync'ing the HD-P2 audio with the XL-H1 video? Would love a firsthand report of what the workflow is like to record audio and end up with it on an FCP timeline all matched up with the video.
John Cordell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 10:17 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 540
Soon...very soon. This unit is pretty new and I just got mine. I'll be pushing it to it's limits though next week when I shoot an opera. Not only will it really test the dynamic range of this unit, but it will also be a LONG, one-take show. (Maybe 2) So, I'll know right away if it's syncing when I plop it in the timeline.

It'll be a week or two, but I will definitely report back!

Kevin
Kevin Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 09:56 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Test of Tascam

Kevin, Does the Tascam actually hold its timecode value if it is not connected to the timecode source? Some people say it remembers it until you power off and others say it doesn't.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network